Google+

September 18, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

SLJ Spotlight

For all the latest SLJ reviews and more, subscribe to SLJ today and save 35%!

An inspirational woman’s life in review in “Sally Ride”| Audio Pick

sallyride

Sherr,, Lynn. Sally Ride: America’s First Woman in Space. 11 CDs. 13:30 hrs. Tantor Audio. 2014. $44.99. ISBN 9781494503406. 2 MP3-CDs.
Gr 9 Up–Sally Ride, the first American woman to go into space, impressive had earned a newly minted doctorate in physics from Stanford when she applied for the space program, beating out a thousand applicants for the job. Her focus was on her work and that dedication led to all of her successes. Published originally for the adult market, this [...]

Rock On! | SLJ Spotlight

johnnycash

Three illustrated biographies give insight into rock ‘n’ roll legends.

“Growing Up Green” takes learning outside the classroom | DVD Pick

growing-up-green-4

Growing Up Green. 27 min. Dist. by the Video Project. 2013. School: $79. Public: $39. ISBN unavail.
Gr 9 Up–Award-winning filmmaker Bob Gliner’s new documentary focuses on the Great Lakes Stewardship Initiative (GLSI) in Michigan, a statewide initiative that centers on school reform through the students’ environment. Urban and rural students of all ages learn and practice science and environmental knowledge and skills. In doing so, they make connections to their physical surroundings, history, and community, while developing solutions and even [...]

The Well-Traveled Reader | SLJ Spotlight

jasmineskies

Readers can take a trip without moving an inch in these novels with vibrant, far away settings.

History comes to life in Wiles’s second “Sixties” installment|Audio Pick

revolution

Wiles, Deborah. Revolution. (The Sixties Trilogy: Bk. 2). 10 CDs. 12:10 hrs. Listening Library. 2014. $50. ISBN 9780553395266. digital download.
Gr 5-8–At home, 12-year-old Sunny’s prickly relationships with her blended family trigger yearning for her absent mother. In town, the community faces SNCCs, COFOs and COREs, invaders from the North who’ve come to register black voters despite violent local opposition. Stacey Aswad perfectly conveys Sunny’s sassy young voice while Francois Battiste becomes Raymond, the African American boy who personifies the struggle [...]

Playing With the Narrative | SLJ Spotlight

SLJ1408-Spotlight-9up-Narr-TN

These teen fiction titles stretch the limits with twists on the traditional narrative.

Tragic consequences of intolerance and gun violence explored in “Valentine Road”| DVD Pick

valentineroad

Valentine Road belongs in all school and public libraries as a cautionary tale about homophobia, intolerance, and the easy availability of guns.

Sketching Celebrities | SLJ Spotlight

ArtistsWritersThinkersDreamers

James Gulliver Hancock’s new nonfiction title offers a charming and whimsical look at well-known figures through drawing.

Folklore and fantasy thrive in “Midwinterblood”| Audio Pick

midwinterblood

This unusual book for teensis is comprised of seven vignettes, with settings ranging from the future to Viking times and a variety of characters, including vampires, ghosts, and humans all based on the Scandinavian island of Blessed.

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

“Addiction Incorporated” highlights dangerous dealings of the tobacco industry| DVD Pick

addictionincorporated

An extremely interesting snapshot that gives viewers a chance to watch a rather sordid piece of American corporate history. Researcher Victor DeNoble talks about his research in the 1980s for tobacco giant Philip Morris.

Mixing Colors? There’s a Book for That! | SLJ Spotlight

mix it up

A new interactive picture book teaches children about creativity, and color.

The Avengers return to save the future in Friedman’s “The Ultimates” | Audio Pick

theultimates

The complex plot and unique, developed characters in “The Ultimates” will appeal to listeners who like the Avengers, superheroes, action, adventure, and mystery.

National Geographic documents the ways of wildlife in “Best of Nature” collection| DVD Pick

bestofnature

This three-DVD set features six of the seven Great Migrations episodes that aired on the National Geographic channel in 2010.

Breezy Beach Reads | SLJ Spotlight

SLJ1407w-BK-Spot-beachReads-TN

Three tales of sibling rivalry, sibling discovery, and mysteries on the moon to keep middle grade readers entertained during the summer.

Tenacious Teens | SLJ Spotlight

Popular

Four new titles about formidable teens making a change.

Transgender Youths Tell Their Stories in “Beyond Magenta” | Audio Pick

beyondmagenta

The strength and honesty of six transgender teens stand out as their stories are told by a large cast of outstanding performers, including Nick Podehl, Roxanne Hernandez, Nancy Wu, and Marisol Ramirez.

Inspirations For Baking | SLJ Spotlight

Baking Day

Three children’s books embrace the joy of baking.

Students Improve Speech Through History in “The Address” | DVD Pick

theaddress

The Address. 84 min. Dist. by PBS. 2014. $24.99. ISBN unavail.
Gr 6 Up–This documentary focuses on the students at the Greenwood School in Putney, Vermont, as they seek to understand the meaning of the Gettysburg Address, but, more importantly, as they strive to memorize the words and recite the address at a formal dinner held in February each year. Founded in 1978, the school educates young men who have a variety of complex learning differences, including dyslexia, dysgraphia, executive function, [...]

Bone-Chilling Horror Stories |SLJ Spotlight

SLJ1406w-Fic_9upspot

A collection of frightening fiction for young adult readers.