Google+

September 19, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

SLJ Reviews: Grades 9 & Up

For all the latest SLJ reviews and more, subscribe to SLJ today and save 35%!

Fabulous Debuts, Dark Fantasies, and Haunting Tales | What’s Hot in YA

SLJ1409-BK-Fic9up_Lu

Annie Cardi and Dawn O’Porter’s debut novels deal with tough stuff and Brenna Yovanoff and Cat Winters return with spooky works that are sure to give teens nightmares. From surreal fiction to pulled-from-the-headlines nonfiction, the following titles will hook young adults and have them asking for more.

Preapocalyptic Time-Travel, Turn-of-the-Century California, and High School Drama | YA Fiction Series Update

SLJ1409w_FicSeries-TN

SLJ presents the latest updates in YA fiction series and the conclusions of some trilogies you won’t want to miss. Your teens won’t want to miss these series continuations, from dystopic science fiction to realistic high school stories to historical fiction.

This article was published in School Library Journal's September 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Playing With the Narrative | SLJ Spotlight

SLJ1408-Spotlight-9up-Narr-TN

These teen fiction titles stretch the limits with twists on the traditional narrative.

Novels in Verse, Literary Street Lit, and High-Interest Nonfiction | What’s Hot in YA

How it Went Down Magoon

Kekla Magoon’s How It Went Down about a black teen who is shot by a white man, is especially timely with recent events in Ferguson, Missouri, and just the right title for young adults grappling with streaming headlines. And, a new book from the queen of verse novels, Ellen Hopkins, will entice fans of the format. The following fiction and nonfiction titles for teens will be perfect for late-summer reading and back-to-school shelf-browsing.

Constructing a Life | A Conversation with Isabel Quintero

gabix

“Adults forget what it is like to be a teen—that on their way to becoming adults they are often faced with situations they don’t know how to react or respond to. I often hear adults say, ‘In my day young women/men didn’t behave this way or that way.’ I have to laugh because, yes they did!”

Sister, Sister: Sibling Drama in Young Adult Literature

sisters

Delving into everything from rivalries and heartbreaks to cold shoulders and warm embraces, three recent young adult novels each explore a facet of that bond among young women coming of age simultaneously, bound by blood, and, often, friendship.

Art Heist Capers, Super-Powered Fantasies, and Creepy Horror Tales | What’s Hot in YA

Kiss of Deception

With works by heavy hitters such as Scott Westerfeld, Gregory Maguire, Andrew Smith, Katherine Paterson, Jacqueline Woodson, and Maggie Stiefvater, this month’s column is chock-full of upcoming YA and nonfiction titles that will have teens adding to overflowing TBR piles.

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

July Starred Reviews

SLJ1407w-BK-Star_Russel-TNl

Ben Franklin makes a splash, Hervé Tullet mixes it up, and Mo Willems makes new friends in the July stars, offering the best of fiction, nonfiction, and multimedia.

This article was published in School Library Journal's July 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Star-crossed Love, Diabolical Mean Girls, and Unsolved Historical Mysteries | What’s Hot in YA

otherbound

Looking for titles to share for the summer reading crowd? The following picks will intrigue teens looking for their next YA fix, whether it be the latest in science fiction, graphic novels, DIY guides, or heartbreaking true stories.

Bone-Chilling Horror Stories |SLJ Spotlight

SLJ1406w-Fic_9upspot

A collection of frightening fiction for young adult readers.

Scandals, First Love, and Genre-Bending Fantasy | Gr 9 & Up Fiction Reviews

SLJ1406w-BKFic_9up-TN

Whether teens are looking for the next The Fault in Our Stars readalike (A.J. Betts’s Zac & Mia) or a fantasy-infused gender-bending novel (Corinne Duyvis’s ,em>Otherbound), check out the following titles recently reviewed for young adults in SLJ’s June issue.

This article was published in School Library Journal's June 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

A Hitchcockian Mystery, Magical Footwear, and More| Grades 5-8 Fiction Reviews

SLJ1406w-BKFic_5-8-TN

Newly reviewed middle grade titles include several intriguing mysteries, some magical adventure stories, and a selection of graphic novels.

This article was published in School Library Journal's June 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

June Starred Reviews

SLJ1406w-STARS_Colon-TN

From a dystopian adventure set in Hawaii to a surreal, graphic-novel-inspired picture book to a deep exploration of one history’s most infamous families, the June Stars offer excellent examples of the best in fiction, nonfiction, and media for children and teens.

This article was published in School Library Journal's June 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Explorations of Gender & Sexuality in New YA Fiction | SLJ Spotlight

SLJ1405w-BK-Spot_F9up-TN

Boy meets boy, girl meets girl, and girl becomes genie in this diverse collection of coming-of-age novels that explore gender and sexuality.

Gothic Romances, Sci-Fi Adventures, and a John Green Readalike | What’s Hot in YA

LetsGetLost

Looking for a John Green readalike? Search no further than Adi Alsaid’s Let’s Get Lost. Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s eerie novel set in Barcelona will entice and haunt teens. And if you thought the dystopian and paranormal novels have worn out their welcome—Michelle Krys, Catherine Linka, and Kelsey Foster bring fresh takes to the tried-and-true genres. The following young adult, nonfiction, and crossover titles will grab reluctant and avid readers alike.

Teens Review Latest from Cremer, ‘One Man Guy’, ‘One Last Kiss’, and More

One Man Guy

Need to find something new to put in the hands of Downton Abbey followers? Love by the Morning Star is just the ticket. Andrea Cremer’s steampunk/alternative history title will delight fans. And check out a haunting readalike for Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall called My Last Kiss.

‘The Inventor’s Secret’: Behind the Scenes with Andrea Cremer

The Inventor's Secret

Alternative history with a steampunk vibe, Andrea Cremer’s The Inventor’s Secret takes readers to 18th century North America, and this time, the British Empire triumphs in the Revolutionary War. The author shares her thoughts, and questions, with SLJTeen.

Conclusions to Bardugo’s, Cass’s, and Taylor’s Sagas and More | What’s Hot in YA

God & Monsters

After teens have devoured the final volumes in the popular fantasy series by Leigh Bardugo, Kiera Cass, and Laini Taylor out this spring, offer the following hot picks in fiction, graphic novels, and nonfiction. Whether a fantasy die-hard or a fan of contemporary fiction with diverse characters, readers will find a smorgasbord of engrossing titles in these selections.

The Latest from Marcus Sedgwick, Laini Taylor, and Stephanie Kuehn | Gr 9 & Up Fiction Reviews

SLJ1405w-FicPre-9up_TN

From Laini Taylor’s conclusion to her “Daughter of Smoke and Bone” saga to Printz Winner Marcus Sedgwick’s latest philosophical mystery, the following books for teens will captivate and engage their readers long after the final page is turned.

This article was published in School Library Journal's May 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.