Google+

July 22, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

Top Picks in Fiction, Nonfiction, & Media| Stars List, July 2014

SLJ1407w-BK-Star_Russel-TNl

Ben Franklin makes a splash, Hervé Tullet mixes it up, and Mo Willems makes new friends in the July stars, offering the best of fiction, nonfiction, and multimedia.

This article was published in School Library Journal's July 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Star-crossed Love, Diabolical Mean Girls, and Unsolved Historical Mysteries | What’s Hot in YA

otherbound

Looking for titles to share for the summer reading crowd? The following picks will intrigue teens looking for their next YA fix, whether it be the latest in science fiction, graphic novels, DIY guides, or heartbreaking true stories.

Bone-Chilling Horror Stories |SLJ Spotlight

SLJ1406w-Fic_9upspot

A collection of frightening fiction for young adult readers.

Scandals, First Love, and Genre-Bending Fantasy | Gr 9 & Up Fiction Reviews

SLJ1406w-BKFic_9up-TN

Whether teens are looking for the next The Fault in Our Stars readalike (A.J. Betts’s Zac & Mia) or a fantasy-infused gender-bending novel (Corinne Duyvis’s ,em>Otherbound), check out the following titles recently reviewed for young adults in SLJ’s June issue.

This article was published in School Library Journal's June 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

A Hitchcockian Mystery, Magical Footwear, and More| Grades 5-8 Fiction Reviews

SLJ1406w-BKFic_5-8-TN

Newly reviewed middle grade titles include several intriguing mysteries, some magical adventure stories, and a selection of graphic novels.

This article was published in School Library Journal's June 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Exemplary New Books, Audio, & DVDs | Stars List, June 2014

SLJ1406w-STARS_Colon-TN

From a dystopian adventure set in Hawaii to a surreal, graphic-novel-inspired picture book to a deep exploration of one history’s most infamous families, the June Stars offer excellent examples of the best in fiction, nonfiction, and media for children and teens.

This article was published in School Library Journal's June 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Explorations of Gender & Sexuality in New YA Fiction | SLJ Spotlight

SLJ1405w-BK-Spot_F9up-TN

Boy meets boy, girl meets girl, and girl becomes genie in this diverse collection of coming-of-age novels that explore gender and sexuality.

Gothic Romances, Sci-Fi Adventures, and a John Green Readalike | What’s Hot in YA

LetsGetLost

Looking for a John Green readalike? Search no further than Adi Alsaid’s Let’s Get Lost. Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s eerie novel set in Barcelona will entice and haunt teens. And if you thought the dystopian and paranormal novels have worn out their welcome—Michelle Krys, Catherine Linka, and Kelsey Foster bring fresh takes to the tried-and-true genres. The following young adult, nonfiction, and crossover titles will grab reluctant and avid readers alike.

Teens Review Latest from Cremer, ‘One Man Guy’, ‘One Last Kiss’, and More

One Man Guy

Need to find something new to put in the hands of Downton Abbey followers? Love by the Morning Star is just the ticket. Andrea Cremer’s steampunk/alternative history title will delight fans. And check out a haunting readalike for Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall called My Last Kiss.

‘The Inventor’s Secret’: Behind the Scenes with Andrea Cremer

The Inventor's Secret

Alternative history with a steampunk vibe, Andrea Cremer’s The Inventor’s Secret takes readers to 18th century North America, and this time, the British Empire triumphs in the Revolutionary War. The author shares her thoughts, and questions, with SLJTeen.

Conclusions to Bardugo’s, Cass’s, and Taylor’s Sagas and More | What’s Hot in YA

God & Monsters

After teens have devoured the final volumes in the popular fantasy series by Leigh Bardugo, Kiera Cass, and Laini Taylor out this spring, offer the following hot picks in fiction, graphic novels, and nonfiction. Whether a fantasy die-hard or a fan of contemporary fiction with diverse characters, readers will find a smorgasbord of engrossing titles in these selections.

The Latest from Marcus Sedgwick, Laini Taylor, and Stephanie Kuehn | Gr 9 & Up Fiction Reviews

SLJ1405w-FicPre-9up_TN

From Laini Taylor’s conclusion to her “Daughter of Smoke and Bone” saga to Printz Winner Marcus Sedgwick’s latest philosophical mystery, the following books for teens will captivate and engage their readers long after the final page is turned.

This article was published in School Library Journal's May 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Top Picks in Fiction, Nonfiction, & Media| Stars List, May 2014

SLJ1405w-BK-Star_Beebe-TN

Tracy Holczer’s tender exploration of grief, Matthias Picard’s eye-popping 3-D underwater adventure, and Stephanie Kuehn’s unputdownable thriller top our list of stellar titles reviewed in the May issue.

This article was published in School Library Journal's May 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

What’s Old is New: Recent YA Books with Allusions to Classic Lit | SLJ Spotlight

Paige_Dorothy Must Die

Nine books that will take readers back in time with their allusions to classic literature.

Beach Reads, Royal Intrigue, and Genre-Bending Tales | What’s Hot in YA

Klise_Art of Secrets

The following titles–from Justin Somper’s first foray into YA lit and Danielle Paige’s wicked Dorothy Must Die to Sally Green’s witchy Half Bad and E. Lockhart’s much-anticipated We Were Liars– offer teens a plethora of attention-worthy narratives.

Exciting New Titles by Melissa De La Cruz, Pete Hautman, and Marissa Meyer | Grades 9 & Up Fiction Reviews

SLJ140401w-BK_Fic9up-TN

From Jenny Han’s poignant novel about true love and sisterhood to Alan Lawrence Sitomer’s look into the gritty world of cage fighting, the following books for high school readers will intrigue teens and keep them coming for more.

This article was published in School Library Journal's April 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Pick of the Day: Going Over

Going Over

Kephart immerses readers in 1980s Berlin, a time period that does not receive a lot of attention in most history textbooks.

Book Review: Grades 5 & Up Nonfiction

SLJ140301w_BK-NF5up

From women’s political history to an in-depth look at John Brown’s war against slavery, the nonfiction offerings for older students reviewed in our March issue will inspire critical thinking.

This article was published in School Library Journal's March 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Book Review: Grades 9 & Up Fiction

SLJ140301W_BK-Fic9up

Several YA novels in our March issue capitalize on the Downton Abbey fandom, including Bethany Hagen’s postapocalyptic Landry Park, Katherine Longshore’s drama-filled Manor of Secrets, and Leila Rasheed’s lush Diamonds & Deceit.

This article was published in School Library Journal's March 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.