Google+

July 24, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

The Numberlys Imag.N.O.Tron | Touch and Go

photo

Find out what Moonbot Studios, that “secret zero-gravity colony inhabited by interstellar beings” in Shreveport, LA, has been up to. Once again, it defies reality.

Opinion: Dear Congressman, Research Shows Closing School Libraries and Cutting Certified Librarians Does Not Make Sense

SarahLittman-rezie

Closing school libraries and cutting certified librarian positions does not make sense, says YA author and advocate Sarah Darer Littman, who has backed this assertion with research she cites in an open letter to policy makers.

Guadalajara | Consider the Source

22300586

How can we bring high quality Spanish-language books into American libraries? The Guadalajara International Book Fair is one answer.

Art Heist Capers, Super-Powered Fantasies, and Creepy Horror Tales | What’s Hot in YA

Kiss of Deception

With works by heavy hitters such as Scott Westerfeld, Gregory Maguire, Andrew Smith, Katherine Paterson, Jacqueline Woodson, and Maggie Stiefvater, this month’s column is chock-full of upcoming YA and nonfiction titles that will have teens adding to overflowing TBR piles.

University of Illinois and Freedom to Read Foundation Offer Intellectual Freedom Course

Emily Knox-resize

The Freedom to Read Foundation and the Graduate School of Library and Information Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign are joining forces to offer an online graduate-level course “Intellectual Freedom and Censorship” for library and information science students around the country held August 26–October 10.

Tag Team: Collaborations in Books

Shadows-feature

What happens when more than one author works on a single book? Find out.

How Librarians Can Help Fight the Culture of Slut-Shaming

the truth about alice

YA authors are tackling “the s-word” head-on. As professionals serving young people, librarians can talk to teens about why slut-shaming can’t be tolerated—and provide supportive programming.

AASL Approves New Mission Statement of Empowerment

AASL logo

At the 2014 ALA Annual Conference in Las Vegas, the AASL Board of Directors unanimously voted to approve a new mission statement for the association that more accurately reflects its goals and practices.

Amazon Launches Kindle Unlimited Ebook Subscription Service

Kindle Unlimited 600

Upon the announcement of Amazon’s ebook subscription program Kindle Unlimited, Gary Price, INFOdocket editor, writes “Are libraries ready to compete with these services?”

New ALA Report Examines Licensing Model for Ebooks in School Libraries

EH140626-McGraw-Hill_Follett-eBook

For libraries, buying or licensing ebooks is a very different story than the average consumer simply clicking and purchasing off a book retailer website. A new report from the American Library Association takes a close look at the licensing models for ebooks, for school libraries in particular and how these policies affect access for students.

Collaborating on the Summer Slide: University Students Tutor at Jacksonville Public Library

UNF Tutoring program

A unique partnership between Jacksonville (FL) Public Library and the University of North Florida continues to bring tutoring services to children who might otherwise experience the “summer slide.”

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

A Teacher Librarian’s Path to Becoming a Google Educator | Tech Tidbits

GoogleForEducation

Inspired by the recent Innovative Education in Colorado Conference, teacher librarian Phil Goerner set out to become a certified Google Educator this summer. Here’s what he learned.

Nashville Public Library Partners with Local School Libraries to Boost Results for Students

Limitless Libraries Logo-resize

Librarian Tricia Bengel of Nashville Public Library shares her story about teaming up with local school librarians and offers practical tips for others in the industry.

Are Today’s Kids All Thumbs? Touch Matters. Researchers Bring Tactile Learning into Digital Realm.

Are Today’s Kids All Thumbs? Touch Matters. Researchers Bring Tactile Learning into Digital Realm.

Using our hands is critical to learning, and the rise of digital devices in early childhood learning potentially limits children’s opportunities to learn about the world around them through touch. The Association of Teachers and Lecturers founds young children have trouble using toys and blocks because of their overuse of touch-screen devices. So, the digital industry is coming up with ways to use interactive touch and tools with the digital screen.

This article was published in School Library Journal's July 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Q & A with Matthew Quick, Author of ‘Silver Linings Playbook’

Matthew Quick-headshot

SLJ catches up with Matthew Quick, author of the page-to-screen hit The Silver Linings Playbook and Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock.

Pierre et le loup | Touch and Go

Pierre et le loup (Camera Lucida/Radio France/France Télévisions)

Sergueï Prokofiev’s ‘Peter and the Wolf’ is often a child’s first introduction to the orchestra. This delightful production of that musical story that can be enjoyed by those miles away from a concert hall….

Kids Solve Global Problems, Buy Tractor for Village in Zambia | ISTE 2014

Global Problems 2-resize

The ISTE session “Teaching Kids to Harness Technology to Solve Global Problems” showed how a group of Michigan fifth and sixth graders used compassion, curiosity, and 21st-century skills to raise money and buy a tractor for a village in Zambia.

The Wildest Children’s Books of 2014

The Wildest Children’s Books of 2014

“What follows are a few 2014 books that made me and Salvador Dali double take – in a good way,” writes Travis Jonker, introducing this year’s edition of an annual feature on his blog 100 Scope Notes.

Gayle Forman’s ‘If I Stay’ to Be Released in Theaters This August

gayle foreman

YA author Gayle Forman has a big summer coming up, keynoting the upcoming SLJ SummerTeen free virtual event on July 24 and awaiting the release of the page-to-screen adaptation of her 2009 hit novel If I Stay.