Google+

October 19, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

The Big Screen’s ‘Dear White People’ and a Roundup of Not-to-Miss YA Novels

Black Boy White School

Dear White People, written and directed by Justin Simien, takes a satirical look at race relations in America. Be prepared for the October 17 premiere with a selection of books for teens that deal with intolerance, civil rights, and racism.

Meet Teddy, FDR, and Eleanor: Great Books About the Roosevelts

roos4

The Roosevelts: An Intimate History, Ken Burns’s seven-part documentary film about the lives of Theodore, Franklin, and Eleanor Roosevelt, recently premiered on PBS. Ranging from picture-book accounts to more in-depth biographies, the books featured here will both inform and inspire.

‘The Giver’ Movie and other Tales for Teens About a World Gone Wrong

Illusive

First published in 1993, Lois Lowry’s The Giver makes its long-awaited big screen debut on August 15. Recommend these recent YA releases to fans of the unforgettable dystopian novel.

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

Page to Screen: Kid & YA Lit Flicks to Look Forward to After ‘The Fault in Our Stars’

If_I_Stay_1

With the success of Divergent and The Book Thief, Hollywood continues to tap kid’s books, from classic fairy tales to the latest dystopian, for new ideas. To celebrate the highly the anticipated big screen version of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, starring Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort, SLJ has compiled a list of upcoming projects that will be coming to a screen near you.

Tom Cruise’s Sci-Fi Thriller and a Round-Up of Out-of-this-World Reads for Teens

End of Tomorrow

Edge of Tomorrow, an adrenaline-charged blockbuster, blasts into theaters on June 6. Whether dipping into time-touring paradoxes, unwelcome alien intruders, the perilous consequences of science misused, or warp-velocity adventure, the riveting reads assembled here will reel in moviegoers as well as genre enthusiasts.

Marvel Superhero Blowout: Captain America, Spiderman, and the X-men | Media Mania

Xmen No More Humans

This spring has brought a bumper crop of big-budget films about the adventures of shield-flinging, skyscraper-swinging, mutation-mastering heroes. Supercharge your holdings and movie tie-in book displays by including this selection of preludes, adaptations, story sources and inspirations, and suggested reads about popular Marvel characters.

AMC’s New Series, ‘Turn’, and Electrifying Espionage Reads | Media Mania

Turn1

AMC’s new series, Turn, based on Alexander Rose’s Washington’s Spies, will certainly generate new interest in the American Revolutionary War. We’ve rounded up a great list of titles for teens to dig into when they come to you for more on the Culper Ring and this fascinating time in our nation’s history.

’300: Rise of an Empire’ Reinterprets Ancient History with 21st-Century Flair | Media Mania

300: Epic Xerxes

Fans of 300, closely based on Frank Miller’s superb graphic novel, will be thrilled with the March 7 release of 300: Rise of an Empire (R), also inspired by a graphic novel by Miller (the not-yet published Xerxes). This time, the combat action moves to the high seas.

Vampires Get Schooled: Spine-Tingling Supernatural Reads for ‘Vampire Academy’ Fans

Vampire Academy Movie Tie-in

Percolating with fast-paced paranormal action and fang-sharp one-liners, Vampire Academy, an adaptation of the first volume of Richelle Mead’s popular young adult series, hits theaters on February 7, 2014. Film fans will be hungry to read—or reread—Mead’s source material, along with some recently released supernatural thrillers featuring fanged friends and foes.

‘I, Frankenstein’: A New Creature Feature and a Selection of Monstrously Good Reads for Teens

Frankenstein Classical Comics

Opening in theaters on January 24, I, Frankenstein (PG-13) provides a fresh take on a classic character set in an alternate modern-day world. Help teens make a connection between movie incarnations of this fearsome protagonist and the tale’s early 19th-century literary inspiration with a spine-tingling selection of graphic novels and reimaginings.

47 Ronin and a Sampling of Samurai Tales for Teens | Media Mania

47 Ronin

Bursting with flying fists and swords, well-researched details of time and setting, and themes that would make any samurai proud, these books will reel in movie viewers as well as fans of historical fiction, martial arts epics, and adventure stories.

YA Novels Go to the Movies | Media Mania

Enders Game movie

From a soul-searing work of historical fiction to an array of dystopic tales that envision the not-so-distant future, four much-lauded young adult novels have been adapted for the big screen, all slated to premiere in November. Help teens make the connection between book and film by displaying, booktalking, and discussing these attention-worthy offerings.

The Assassination of JFK: Revisiting an American Tragedy | Media Mania

Parkland movie tie in cover

Joy Fleishhacker, our media maniac, looks ahead to the October release of the motion picture Parkland, based on the 2007 book Four Days in November which examines the goings-on at Parkland Hospital following the shooting of President John F. Kennedy in Dallas, Texas, on November 22, 1963. She’s put together a selection of nonfiction and fiction titles which will can help middle grade and teen readers get the facts surrounding the event as well as the feelings of those young people who experienced it.

Page to Screen: From YA Bestsellers to Big-Screen Blockbusters

tumblr_johngreen

While the jury is still out on the big screen adaptation of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones, reviewers are raving about the surprise indie hit The Spectacular Now, based on Tim Tharp’s young adult novel. Children’s books continue to be Hollywood’s go-to source for inspiration, and librarians couldn’t be happier. As readers and movie fans await the book-to-film entries coming this fall, such as Suzanne Collins’s Catching Fire and Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, SLJ looks ahead to future releases in this latest installment of Page to Screen.

‘City of Bones’ and More Kick-Butt Monster-Hunting Adventures

City of Bones

Adapted from the first book of Cassandra Clare’s wildly popular YA fantasy series, The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones bursts into theaters on August 21, 2013. Movie viewers will clamor to read or revisit the original work; when they’ve exhausted the series, be ready with more titles featuring demon-slayers and monster-hunters.

‘The Wolverine’ Returns: Graphic Novels for Teens | Media Mania

Wolverine First Cuts

With the release of The Wolverine, movie fans will be clamoring to read more about the man who put the “SKINT!” into hand-to-hand combat. Consider enhancing your graphic novel collection with titles about this plain-talking, hard-scrapping hero.

Superman Soars Again: Great Graphic Novels About the Man of Steel

Ultimate Guide to the Man of Steel

No stranger to the screen, Warner Bros. Pictures reboots the Superman film franchise with Man of Steel (PG-13), slated to premiere June 14 in conventional, 3D, and IMAX theaters. It will have teens flocking to libraries faster than a speeding bullet for comic book classics about this tried-and-true hero. Stock up on and display some of these Superman standards, guaranteed to grab the eye of YA moviegoers and graphic novel fans.

Page to Screen: Summer Reading Blockbusters, Dystopian Teen Lit, and Childhood Classics

gatsby movie poster

As reviews for Baz Lurhmann’s whirlwind adaptation of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby come roaring in, take a look at the latest installment of SLJ’s Page to Screen, where you’ll find updates on already much-touted future movies, and news of recent options on film rights. This roundup of releases will have your students and patrons heading to the theater—and, hopefully, to bookshelves as well.

‘Iron Man 3′ Book Tie-ins | Media Mania

Extremis Javins

Robert Downey Jr. reprises his role as the arrogant, irreverent, and ever likable Tony Stark, ingenious industrialist and high-tech super hero in Iron Man 3 (PG-13), which arrives in theaters on May 3, 2013, in traditional, 3-D, and IMAX 3D formats .Beef up your selection of tales about the Golden Avenger with offerings sure to appeal to teen movie—and comics—fans.