November 23, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ

Beyond the Headlines | Featuring Technology and National Issues

painting for peace

From cyberattacks and idisorders to wrongful convictions and medical ethics, a selection of new nonfiction books provides depth and context to topics of current interest.

Ordinary Kids, Extraordinary Circumstances: World War II Fiction for Middle Grade Readers

into the killing seas

Set against a backdrop of dramatic world events, three engrossing and vividly written novels provide glimpses at history from the relatable perspectives of their young narrators.

Exploring America’s Past: Historical Fiction for Middle Grade Readers


Three new superbly written books feature unique protagonists with compelling points of view and provide insight into the experiences of others, while underscoring the extraordinary courage of otherwise ordinary kids

Cooking Up Some Fun | Recipes for Young Chefs


As the holiday season approaches don’t forget to stock your shelves with a few cookbooks.

Teen vs. Nature: Spine-Tingling Wilderness Survival Stories


Whether braving hurricane-force winds on the Atlantic Ocean or finding themselves lost and alone on the Appalachian Trail, these teen protagonists face extreme circumstances that require them to dig deep for the courage, acumen, and constancy needed to look death in the eye and survive another day.

Haunted Houses & Headless Horsemen: Halloween Apps | Touch and Go


Halloween is here! From classic to contemporary stories (and a bit of augmented reality thrown in for good measure) we have apps for every age and sensibility.

Monster Mayhem | Great Read-Alouds for Inspiring Shivers and Giggles


Starring creatures that range from creepy to comical, these not-too-scary offerings are a treat for sharing at Halloween and all year long.

From Ziggurats to Skyscrapers | What We Build and How We Live

take shelter

This eye-opening selection of books about buildings and architecture provide a wealth of opportunities for exploring various cross-curricular topics including art, science, environmental studies, history, and cultural studies.

Dark Descents | Chilling Tales for Teens

dark shimmer

As the temperatures dip lower and pumpkins appear on front stoops, teens may want to turn to books that go bump in the night.

These *Are* the Books You’re Looking For | A “Star Wars” Roundup


Just in time for Star Wars Reads Day on October 10, librarian Christopher Lassen selects a variety of new “Star Wars” titles guaranteed to awaken the Force in readers in this galaxy or any other.

“Funny Bones”: Celebrating the Day of the Dead


As November approaches, consider these two new books on the Day of the Dead/Día de los Muertos.

All In A School Day | Picture-Book Perspectives

I'm new here

A selection of new picture books touch upon commonplace situations that are often part of the school experience, exhibiting sensitivity to their young protagonists’ perspectives.

Forays into Foreign Territory | Teens Forging an Identity

all american

Immersing readers in the minds of the male protagonists, these three recent coming-of-age YA novels awaken teens to settings, people, and ideas they might not otherwise have encountered.

Companions Steadfast and True | Great Books about Imaginary Friends


Ranging from picture books to novels, this selection of fun-filled tales about pretend pals celebrate unfailing friendship, effervescent individuality, and the prodigious power of imagination.

Celebrating Literacy: Kids as Readers, Writers, and Imaginers

the whisper

Filled with imagination-stirring moments and an intrinsic appreciation for the many joys of reading, these engaging picture books cast young protagonists in the role of creator, inspiring children to go forth and dream big.

The Allure of the Unsettling | New Middle Grade Fantasy


Meet a ratter, a girl with telepathic abilities, and an otherworldly creature in new middle grade fantasy titles that walk the line between light and dark and comfort and creepy with aplomb.

Hot Read-Alikes for “Maze Runner” and “Mockingjay” Film Fans | Media Mania

Dove Arising

As teens wait for the release of the second Maze Runner and Mockingjay Part 2 films, hand them these thrilling sci-fi read-alikes.

Looking for a Back-to-School Chapter Book Read-Aloud? Don’t Miss These!


Looking for a good chapter book read aloud for the first days of school? We surveyed our readers and reviewers about the titles they have been recommending lately. Here are their responses.

It’s Back to School |Stories to Share


Whether realistically told or delightfully over the top, these back-to-school stories remind kids that first-day butterflies are perfectly normal and demonstrate that though problems may be encountered, they can also be surmounted.

Ten Years Later: Hurricane Katrina


Published to coincide with the 10-year anniversary of Hurricane Katrina, several new titles revisit this moment in history with clarity, compassion, and an appreciation for the resiliency demonstrated by those impacted.