Google+

July 2, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ

“Paper Towns” and Other Epic Road Trip Titles in YA Lit

papertowns-tie-in

As buzz builds for the film adaptation of John Green’s Paper Towns, check out the following selections, all of which feature summertime journeys and epic odysseys.

Heists, Cons, and High-Octane Action: New Movies and Teen Reads

Trust Me I'm Lying

Devotees of Vin Diesel’s “The Fast and the Furious” film franchise are gearing up for the release of Furious 7 on April 3. Fans of these films and book series about teen criminals will be captivated by these action-packed tales of caper-filled cons and bodacious burglaries.

Intelligent Machines: Robots in Film and Teen Fiction

Robots8

Catch the eye of teens who love movie and TV robots with a lineup of titles that run diagnostics on coming-of-age themes and personhood conundrums while also providing plenty of gear-turning, technology-pushing, cyborg-centered action.

A Passion for Fashion | Stylish Nonfiction Titles for Teens

Vintage Fashion Complete

Whether riveted to reality TV design shows, thumbing through fashion mags or surfing blogs, trend-spotting at the mall, or mix-matching items from their own closets, teens have a passion for fashion.

Bewitching Readalikes for Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” in Honor of “Seventh Son” Film

seventhsonmovie

Another reader-favorite young adult book series makes its big-screen debut on February 6. Based on Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” adventure/fantasy series, Seventh Son is set during a time of enchantment, when supernatural evil threatens all of humankind.

Unbroken: The Movie, the Book, and Standout World War II Readalikes

Unbroken.1

The buzz on Unbroken, the Angelina Jolie produced and directed film hitting theaters on December 25, is growing. Based on Laura Hillenbrand’s adult title of the same name, the movie is sure to provoke interest in the YA adaptation and other World War II era works for teens.

The ‘Red Band Society’ and Beyond: YA Novels About Life, Death, and Love

redbandsociety

Filled with humor and heartbreak, poignant emotion, and amazing instances of courage, these young adult offerings are sure to captivate fans of the Red Band Society TV show and John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars.

The Big Screen’s ‘Dear White People’ and a Roundup of Not-to-Miss YA Novels

Black Boy White School

Dear White People, written and directed by Justin Simien, takes a satirical look at race relations in America. Be prepared for the October 17 premiere with a selection of books for teens that deal with intolerance, civil rights, and racism.

Meet Teddy, FDR, and Eleanor: Great Books About the Roosevelts

roos4

The Roosevelts: An Intimate History, Ken Burns’s seven-part documentary film about the lives of Theodore, Franklin, and Eleanor Roosevelt, recently premiered on PBS. Ranging from picture-book accounts to more in-depth biographies, the books featured here will both inform and inspire.

‘The Giver’ Movie and other Tales for Teens About a World Gone Wrong

Illusive

First published in 1993, Lois Lowry’s The Giver makes its long-awaited big screen debut on August 15. Recommend these recent YA releases to fans of the unforgettable dystopian novel.

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

Page to Screen: Kid & YA Lit Flicks to Look Forward to After ‘The Fault in Our Stars’

If_I_Stay_1

With the success of Divergent and The Book Thief, Hollywood continues to tap kid’s books, from classic fairy tales to the latest dystopian, for new ideas. To celebrate the highly the anticipated big screen version of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, starring Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort, SLJ has compiled a list of upcoming projects that will be coming to a screen near you.

Tom Cruise’s Sci-Fi Thriller and a Round-Up of Out-of-this-World Reads for Teens

End of Tomorrow

Edge of Tomorrow, an adrenaline-charged blockbuster, blasts into theaters on June 6. Whether dipping into time-touring paradoxes, unwelcome alien intruders, the perilous consequences of science misused, or warp-velocity adventure, the riveting reads assembled here will reel in moviegoers as well as genre enthusiasts.

Marvel Superhero Blowout: Captain America, Spiderman, and the X-men | Media Mania

Xmen No More Humans

This spring has brought a bumper crop of big-budget films about the adventures of shield-flinging, skyscraper-swinging, mutation-mastering heroes. Supercharge your holdings and movie tie-in book displays by including this selection of preludes, adaptations, story sources and inspirations, and suggested reads about popular Marvel characters.

AMC’s New Series, ‘Turn’, and Electrifying Espionage Reads | Media Mania

Turn1

AMC’s new series, Turn, based on Alexander Rose’s Washington’s Spies, will certainly generate new interest in the American Revolutionary War. We’ve rounded up a great list of titles for teens to dig into when they come to you for more on the Culper Ring and this fascinating time in our nation’s history.

‘300: Rise of an Empire’ Reinterprets Ancient History with 21st-Century Flair | Media Mania

300: Epic Xerxes

Fans of 300, closely based on Frank Miller’s superb graphic novel, will be thrilled with the March 7 release of 300: Rise of an Empire (R), also inspired by a graphic novel by Miller (the not-yet published Xerxes). This time, the combat action moves to the high seas.

Vampires Get Schooled: Spine-Tingling Supernatural Reads for ‘Vampire Academy’ Fans

Vampire Academy Movie Tie-in

Percolating with fast-paced paranormal action and fang-sharp one-liners, Vampire Academy, an adaptation of the first volume of Richelle Mead’s popular young adult series, hits theaters on February 7, 2014. Film fans will be hungry to read—or reread—Mead’s source material, along with some recently released supernatural thrillers featuring fanged friends and foes.

‘I, Frankenstein': A New Creature Feature and a Selection of Monstrously Good Reads for Teens

Frankenstein Classical Comics

Opening in theaters on January 24, I, Frankenstein (PG-13) provides a fresh take on a classic character set in an alternate modern-day world. Help teens make a connection between movie incarnations of this fearsome protagonist and the tale’s early 19th-century literary inspiration with a spine-tingling selection of graphic novels and reimaginings.

47 Ronin and a Sampling of Samurai Tales for Teens | Media Mania

47 Ronin

Bursting with flying fists and swords, well-researched details of time and setting, and themes that would make any samurai proud, these books will reel in movie viewers as well as fans of historical fiction, martial arts epics, and adventure stories.

YA Novels Go to the Movies | Media Mania

Enders Game movie

From a soul-searing work of historical fiction to an array of dystopic tales that envision the not-so-distant future, four much-lauded young adult novels have been adapted for the big screen, all slated to premiere in November. Help teens make the connection between book and film by displaying, booktalking, and discussing these attention-worthy offerings.