Google+

April 23, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

Web Resources for Must-Read Book Club Picks │JLG’s On the Radar

Great American Dust Bowl

Do they really use human bones in bone china? How long can you farm without water? After reading the following titles, selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild, students won’t need much prompting for discussion. Check out suggestions and resources for using these picks with student book clubs or share them with classroom teachers.

Winning Over Fidgety Listeners with New Storytime Classics │ JLG’s On the Radar

Friends

Do you have kids who wiggle and chatter while you read to them? Junior Library Guild editors have selected new picture book titles that will engage restless children from the first page to the last.

Printz Contenders Written by Fan Favorites │JLG’s On the Radar Teen

Fangirl cover

Here’s a short list of fan favorites that just might be considered for the Micheal L. Printz Award for Excellence for Young Adult Literature. Watch for the announcement of the winner at the ALA Midwinter Youth Media Awards.

Snowy Tales for Wintry Days │ JLG’s On the Radar

Big Snow

Snow has already fallen across the country, and now that the calendar page has turned to December, kids have winter on their minds―no matter where they live. The following selections chosen by the editors at Junior Library Guild are just the ticket for cold wintry days.

Star-Studded Science for Common Core Support │ JLG’s On the Radar

Wild Animal Neighbors

Scientists encounter amazing phenomena in their work. Narrative nonfiction provides readers with answers and teachers with informational texts for curriculum standards support. The following science titles, selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild, are sure to foster an interest in knowing more about our world, and the scientists who study it.

The Beat Goes On: Brilliant Middle Grade Sequels │ JLG’s On the Radar

When Did You See Her

Junior Library Guild editors share fun sequels for independent readers. These follow-ups include new entries in favorite series by Lemony Snicket and Jack Gantos, and will have kids anxiously waiting for their next titles.

Walter Dean Myers Leads the Charge to War │JLG’s On the Radar Teen

The Extra

John F. Kennedy said, “Mankind must put an end to war before war puts an end to mankind.” Learning about our history can prevent atrocities from happening again. Veteran writers tackle the impact of war in the following young adult books selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild.

Dinosaurs, Bears, and Bees: Science for Elementary Readers │ JLG’s On the Radar

Eat Like a Bear

Without honeybees, much of our food supply would consist of corn, rice, and oats. Six muscles attached to your eye keep it from popping out. New volcanoes create mountains, islands, and land. Such are the facts gleaned from these amazing science nonfiction titles selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild.

New Fast-Paced Middle Grade Series Openers │ JLG’s On the Radar

Reluctant Assassin

Eoin Colfer and Gordon Korman lead the pack this fall with first books in new series. From magic to hypnotism and fantastical creatures to pirates, these novels selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild will have middle grade readers anticipating their next installments.

Ghosts and Other Things that Go Bump in the Night │ JLG’s On the Radar

Zombie BAseball

When kids have long outgrown the nightmare in their closet, they still clamor for a story that scares them into sleeping with the lights on. From zombies to murdering ghosts, the following new fiction titles, selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild will keep middle school readers looking over their shoulders.

Make Room for Debut Picture Book Authors and Illustrators | JLG’s On the Radar

Tap the magic tree

In a season of amazing new picture books, first-time kid lit writers and illustrators offer wonderful additions for librarians’ collections this fall. From an internationally acclaimed illustrator to an advertising agency creative director who “let the story” come to him, the following titles, selected by the editors of Junior Library Guild, have already garnered much praise.

Wordless Picture Books That Speak Volumes | JLG’s On the Radar

Journey

In most books, words and pictures go hand in hand to tell the story. In a select few, the plot is revealed through the illustrations on the pages and the imagination of a reader. Background knowledge, creativity, and key elements embedded in the narrative allow children to form their own ideas as they interpret the illustrations. The following wordless—or nearly wordless—selections by the editors at Junior Library Guild provide the perfect setting to increase fluency in storytelling.

Orphans Abound: Conquering Larger-than-Life Hurdles | JLG’s On the Radar

Real Boy

From Victorian England to modern day America, orphaned children often face struggles that kids with parents rarely confront. However, most middle-grade students will relate to the issues explored in these new fiction titles―from poverty to self-confidence―selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild. In fact, these works may give young readers hope about their own issues, while giving them stories that help them step back from their own realities.

Tough Stuff: Middle Grade Novels Tackle Heavy Topics | JLG’s On the Radar

Sugar

Fiction for grades three to five can take on tough subjects―abandonment, foster families, and racism. Handled with tactful gloves, the following fiction titles, selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild, allow readers to learn about themselves and empathize with those who are struggling with difficult issues.

People Who Left Their Mark: Picture Book Biographies | JLG’s On the Radar

Daredevil

From breaking gender barriers to being the forerunner in children’s books illustrating, the subjects in the following titles selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild were ordinary people who did extraordinary things.

New Titles for Fans of Holly Black, Chris Crutcher, and More | JLG’s Teen On the Radar

Period.8

Four favorite YA authors―Holly Black, Chris Crutcher, Nancy Farmer, and Neal Shusterman―have new titles out, and fans will be clamoring for them. From a study room that’s run like Las Vegas to the cruise of a lifetime gone bad, you’ll find suspense, humor, horror, and thrills in this selection from the editors at Junior Library Guild.

Choldenko and Haddix Deliver Satisfying Sequels | JLG’s On the Radar

Al capone Does my Homework

The following shelf-worthy additions selected by the editors of Junior Library Guild offer readers hard-to-put-down follow-ups by Newbery-winning and NY Times-bestselling authors. From the conclusion of Gennifer Choldenko’s “Al Capone” series and the latest title in Margaret Peterson Haddix’s “The Missing” books, these choices will be a slam dunk for kids and librarians.

Tough Choices for Tough Boys: New Titles Explore “Manhood” | JLG’s On the Radar

Piranhas

From paperboy routes to dealing with a dad fighting in Afghanistan, these new releases selected by Junior Library Guild editors feature boys who make difficult, life-altering decisions.

Pitch-Perfect Middle Grade Novels | JLG’s On the Radar

Zero Tolerance

From Rita Willams-Garcia’s P.S. Be Eleven to Cynthia Kadohata’s The Thing About Luck, these middle grade novels selected by Junior Library Guild editors showcase plucky protagonists who learn to forge their own paths despite the circumstances that come their way.

JLG’s On the Radar: Stars to Chocolate Bars—New Science Nonfiction for Elementary Students

Pluto's Secret

These new nonfiction titles can inform and inspire young readers as they learn about their world―from roots to stars. Junior Library Guild editors select the latest informational books for budding scientists.