Google+

July 29, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

The Numberlys Imag.N.O.Tron | Touch and Go

photo

Find out what Moonbot Studios, that “secret zero-gravity colony inhabited by interstellar beings” in Shreveport, LA, has been up to. Once again, it defies reality.

Grunt, Quack, Oink | Focus On Animal Books

SLJ1407-FT_FO-pig-TN

From preschool to middle grade, these nonfiction titles explore the animal kingdom and all its wild ways.

This article was published in School Library Journal's July 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Delivering Quality Spanish-Language Books: The Guadalajara International Book Fair | Consider the Source

22300586

How can we bring high quality Spanish-language books into American libraries? The Guadalajara International Book Fair is one answer.

SummerTeen 2014 Authors Hit the Mark with New Releases │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

Like No Other

SLJ’s SummerTeen 2014 is nearly upon us. This free event on July 24 features some of the best YA authors―up close and personal. Check out the latest releases from the featured guests. Resources for the selected titles are included in this column’s award-winning LiveBinder.

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

Scary, Creepy, and Dangerous: Novels to Read in One Gulp │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

EH_140715_JLG_Creepy

With a little danger, some suspense, and a dose of the supernatural, these middle grade titles selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild will have kids reading long past their curfew.

Pierre et le loup | Touch and Go

Pierre et le loup (Camera Lucida/Radio France/France Télévisions)

Sergueï Prokofiev’s ‘Peter and the Wolf’ is often a child’s first introduction to the orchestra. This delightful production of that musical story that can be enjoyed by those miles away from a concert hall….

Incorporating Every Child Ready to Read in Bilingual Storytimes | Libro por libro

SLJ1407-FT_Libro_open-TN

To celebrate the recent Spanish-language launch of the early literacy initiative, Every Child Ready to Read, Libro por libro has selected kid-friendly bilingual and Spanish titles that work well with each of the five practices: talking, singing, reading, writing, and playing.

This article was published in School Library Journal's July 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Resources for Summer Fiction Reading Lists │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures (or, The Pictures Question)

Is there a more wonderful way to spend a summer afternoon than with a pile of amazing books and an icy beverage? Check out the ready-to-use resources in JLG’s Booktalks to Go’s award-winning LiveBinder for incorporating these titles into lessons or booktalks.

Get On Board: SLJ Selects A Bevy of Board Books

SLJ1407w_BoardBooks-TN

In light of increased attention on early childhood development, SLJ presents a selection of fun and engaging board books.

This article was published in School Library Journal's July 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Class of 2014: YA Debut Novels | JLG’s Booktalks to Go Teen

Vigilante

The class of 2014 includes debuts by novelists who are surely more than one-hit wonders. From current issues in society to murder and reality TV to Cold War Russia, the following selections from the editors at Junior Library Guild are sure to leave their mark on YA literature.

It’s My Life | Teen Angst, Attitude, and Acumen

tomboy

These recent memoirs shed light on the teen experience from three very different perspectives: a college student with a debilitating disease, an awkward outsider chronicling her attempts at becoming popular, and an author looking back at how her tomboyish attitude made for a challenging childhood and adolescence.

Down by the Sea | Factual & Fictional Selections for Young Readers

oceanphoticular

Covering 71 percent of Earth’s surface, home to a vast array of plant and animal species, inherently mysterious and largely unexplored, the ocean makes a fascinating topic for motivating investigations and stimulating imaginations.

The Wonders of Science in Elementary Nonfiction │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

Behold the beautiful dung beetle

From dung beetles that eat on the job to farmers who search leaves by hand every day, facts gleaned in the following selections by the editors at Junior Library Guild will have your patrons glued to the beautifully illustrated picture books.

Junior Library Guild To Roll Out New EBook Service For Libraries| ALA 2014

ebookintro-200x300

On June 26 at the American Library Association conference in Las Vegas, Junior Library Guild will release a new ebook product, JLG ebooks, for libraries across the country.

Audiobooks: Ideal for Transmedia Explorations of Narratives | Listen In

SLJ1406w_FT_ListenIn-TN

Audiobooks are great means to support reading comprehension and opt into transmedia storytelling. Sharon Grover, the head of youth services at the Hedberg Public Library in Janesville, Wisconsin and Lizette Hannegan, the former-district library supervisor for the Arlington Public Schools in Virginia, offer an audiobook selection, from early elementary to young adult.

This article was published in School Library Journal's June 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Books About Friendship: The Good, Bad, and the Ugly │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

Here i am

Friends who are mean, change, and moving are probably not anyone’s favorite subjects. The following titles selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild focus on friendship with life lessons that all young readers can learn.

Eat, Play, Learn: Food-Related Materials to Sink Your Teeth Into | Focus On

SLJ1406w_FT_FO-TN

With increasing alarm over childhood obesity, there’s a need for strong food and cooking titles. These materials not only have rich tie-ins to history, math, culture and science, they also offer sweet—and savory—rewards.

This article was published in School Library Journal's June 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Picture Books that Make You Laugh Out Loud │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

I didn't do my homework

Tall tales have all the earmarks for great read alouds: outlandish illustrations, hard-to-believe deeds, and larger-than-life heroes. These stories, selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild, beg to be read again and again.

Celebrating Dad and Mom | Touch and Go

i love my dad

Parental love is celebrated in two apps for the preschool crowd from Snappyant. With Father’s Day on the horizon, these may be just the apps for the family iPad.