May 24, 2016

Subscribe to SLJ

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Vol. 2: Squirrel You Know It’s True by Ryan North | SLJ Review

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Vol. 2

North, Ryan. The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Vol. 2: Squirrel You Know It’s True. illus. by Erica Henderson. 120p. (The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl). Marvel. Dec. 2015. pap. $14.99. ISBN 9780785197034. 

Gr 6 Up –In this latest adventure, college student Doreen Green, aka Squirrel Girl, saves a group of hostages, including her cat-loving roommate, Nancy, from robot dinosaurs. She encourages a mutated hippo with a fiery temper to become a demolition worker instead of robbing banks, and she […]

#MHYALit Book Review: 100 Days of Cake by Shari Goldhagen

Publisher’s description Get well soon isn’t going to cut it in this quirky and poignant debut novel about a girl, her depression, an aggressive amount of baked goods, and the struggle to simply stay afloat in an unpredictable, bittersweet life. Every other senior at Cove High School might be mapping out every facet of their […]

Review: Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina & New Orleans

The children I work with on a day-to-day basis have no real memory of an event that has changed the course of our country’s history. While for those of us sitting in New York City and in many other cities in the United States (the world!), Hurricane Katrina was far away, but with the TV […]

BFFS | SLJ Spotlight

PB-Harry and Walter

Kindred spirits come in all shapes and sizes (and ages!) and help make every activity and new discovery that much more fun. These picture book tributes to making and keeping old friends and new.

Tenacious Trailblazers | SLJ Spotlight

NF-Whoosh

When discussing innovations, whether they are related to science, sports, or even backyard fun, it is important to give proper respect to those responsible. These titles provide an engaging and lively look at the individuals behind such beloved cultural artifacts as the Super Soaker and baseball or, in the case of Tiny Stitches, a poignant portrait of Vivien Thomas and his contributions to the medical community.

Barton, Chris. Whoosh!: Lonnie Johnson’s Super-Soaking Stream of Inventions. illus. […]

Gale Kids InfoBits: A Reference Wonderland | Reference Online

1605-Reference-Online-InfoBits-TN

Gale provides a trove of material for a wide variety of elementary-aged users.

This article was published in School Library Journal's May 2016 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

The Robber Hotzenplotz by Otfried Preusseler | SLJ Review

The Robber Hotzenplotz

Preussler, Otfried. The Robber Hotzenplotz. tr. from German by Anthea Bell. illus. by F.J. Tripp. 120p. New York Review. May 2016. Tr $15.95. ISBN 9781590179611.

Gr 2-5 –When the infamous robber Hotzenplotz makes off with Grandmother’s coffee mill, clever Kasperl and his best friend Seppel must use all their cunning, along with a little help from the frog-fairy Amaryllis, to retrieve the mill and bring the rapscallion to justice. This new translation of this work, originally […]

Tool literacy as a new process

I’ve been thinking a bit about the notion of app smashing and the way we introduce learning challenges in our classrooms and libraries.  And I am thinking there’s a thinking process going on that we’re not thinking about nearly enough. Introducing a tool and saying you are going to use this tool to tell this […]

And I Darken by Kiersten White | SLJ Review

And I Darken

White, Kiersten. And I Darken. 496p. ebook available. Delacorte. Jun. 2016. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9780553522310; lib. ed. $20.99. ISBN 9780553522327. POP 

Gr 10 Up –The first in a trilogy from best-selling author White, this historical adventure set in the mid-15th century tells the story of Lada and Radu, the children of Vlad Dracul, prince of Wallachia (modern-day Romania). Shouldered with the inescapable curse of being female and the unrelenting burden of her beautiful, sensitive, and physically […]

Book Review: Anything You Want by Geoff Herbach

Publisher’s description Taco’s mom always said, “Today is the best day of your life, and tomorrow will be even better.” That was hard to believe the day she died of cancer and when Taco’s dad had to move up north for work, but he sure did believe it when Maggie Corrigan agreed to go with […]

Charlie and Lola: Back in Town | Touch and Go

TG-Charlie-Lola-TN

Lauren Child’s beloved characters and her distinctive line-and-collage art illustrations can be found in books— both picture and easy chapter—on television, and now on digital devices.

The Secrets of Solace by Jaleigh Johnson | SLJ Review

The Secrets of Solace

Johnson, Jaleigh. The Secrets of Solace. 288p. (World of Solace: Bk. 2). ebook available. Delacorte. Mar. 2016. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9780385376488. 

Gr 4-8 –Archivist apprentice Lina lives in the future world of Solace, learning to analyze the curious treasures that fall from the sky in the scrap towns on the borders. Under the absentminded guidance of Councilwoman Zara, the lonely orphaned Lina has become isolated from her fellow apprentices, spending her time eavesdropping on secret conversations […]

The Rose and the Dagger by Renée Ahdieh | SLJ Review

The Rose and the Dagger

AHDIEH, Renée. The Rose and the Dagger. 432p. ebook available. Putnam. May 2016. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9780399171628. 

Gr 9 Up –This sequel picks up right where The Wrath and the Dawn left off. Shahrzad is enduring a self-inflicted banishment to the desert since her father’s attempt at magic left the city of Rey in ruins. Intent on discovering a way to end Khalid’s terrible curse, she and her sister care for their ailing father while negotiating the dangerous political […]

Teens Review Matthew Quick’s Latest, “Peter Pan” Reimagined, and More

EH160510_GC4K_TeensReview

The Kitsap (WA) Regional Library YA Book Group reviews summer thrillers, an ode to social media, and Matthew Quick’s Every Exquisite Thing.

Most Dangerous: ­Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War by Steve Sheinkin | SLJ Audio Review

Most Dangerous

SHEINKIN, Steve. Most Dangerous: ­Daniel Ellsberg and the Secret History of the Vietnam War. 7 CDs. 7:52 hrs. Listening Library. 2015. $45. ISBN 9780553552775. digital download.

Gr 7 Up –Here Sheinkin tells the story of activist and military analyst Daniel Ellsberg and the famous Pentagon Papers, which were written while the United States was still fighting the war in Vietnam. The top-secret study revealed the many subterfuges used over the course of four presidencies to prolong the war […]

Book Review: Ask Me How I Got Here by Christine Heppermann

Publisher’s description How do you define yourself? By your friends? Your family? Your boyfriend? Your grades? Your trophies? Your choices? By a single choice? From the author of the acclaimed Poisoned Applescomes a novel in verse about a young woman and the aftermath of a life-altering decision. Fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins […]

SLJ’s May 2016 Popular Picks

1605-POP-Picks-TN

Check out SLJ’s May 2016 Popular Picks featuring Monica Brown, Tom Angleberger, Sarah Maas, and more.

This article was published in School Library Journal's May 2016 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

1 Big Salad by Juana Medina | SLJ Review

1 Big Salad by Juana Medina

Medina, Juana. 1 Big Salad. illus. by Juana Medina. 32p. Viking. Jun. 2016. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9781101999745. 

PreS-Gr 1 –Starting with one avocado deer and working up to 10 clementine kittens, the anthropomorphic fruits and veggies in this counting concept book come together to create one big and appealing salad. A recipe for a healthy and simple dressing is included on the last page, along with some playful lemon pigs, a porcupine-ish dish of olive oil, […]

Three Quick Questions: Sophie Cleverly on Scarlet and Ivy: The Lost Twin

1605-POP-Sophie-Cleverly-TN

Sophie Cleverly, whose novel Scarlet and Ivy: The Lost Twin was just named an SLJ Popular Pick, answers three quick questions.

This article was published in School Library Journal's May 2016 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Rosie the Raven by Helga Bansch | SLJ Review

Rosie the Raven by Helga Bansch

Bansch, Helga. Rosie the Raven. tr. from Swiss by Shelley Tanaka. illus. by Helga Bansch. 32p. Annick. Mar. 2016. Tr $18.95. ISBN 9781554518340. 

KGr 2 –Rosie, a most unusual raven, narrates her own story. When she hatches from a bright pink (not green) egg, her round, beakless face and thin arms mark her as different from her siblings. The differences become more apparent as the other nestlings grow feathers and stretch their wings. Birds come to […]