Google+

November 28, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

SLJ Reviews: Grades 9 & Up

For all the latest SLJ reviews and more, subscribe to SLJ today and save 35%!

College Daze: YA Novels that Tackle the Undergraduate Years | SLJ Spotlight

EH_141125_SchoolDaze

Three YA novels explore the limbo between high school and college.

LGBTQ Fiction, Reimagined Fairy Tales, & Horror | What’s Hot in YA

brugman

From an anthology of writings by LGBTQ teens to R.L Stine’s newest entry in the “Fear Street” saga, the latest books for teens are sure to pique readers’ interest and keep them coming back for more.

November Starred Reviews

SLJ1411w-STARs-CVs

Graphic Novels

Nonfiction

DVD

Audio

Music

Fiction

Alakija, Polly. Counting Chickens. illus. by Polly Alakija. 32p. Frances Lincoln/Janetta Otter-Barry Bks. 2014. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9781847804372.

PreS-Gr 2 –Tobi may have the finest hen in the village, but his friends’ animals are all having babies, while Tobi’s chicken only lays eggs. As days pass, Aduke’s four kittens, Dapo’s six piglets, and other animals grow [...]

This article was published in School Library Journal's November 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

The Newest from Stiefvater, Lyga, and Napoli | Fiction Grades 9 & Up

SLJ1411w-Fic9up-CVs-TN

Teen readers have plenty to sink their teeth into, from Maggie Stiefvater’s Blue Lily, Lily Blue, the much-anticipated latest in “The Raven Cycle”; Barry Lyga’s Blood of My Blood, the blood-soaked finale in the “I Hunt Killers” trilogy; and Donna Jo Napoli’s historical fiction Hidden.

This article was published in School Library Journal's November 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

#WeNeedDiverseBooks: Realistic fiction with diverse protagonists | SLJ Spotlight

Diamond Boy

Three teen titles highlight diverse protagonists whose stories are not often told.

Hollywood Starlets, Charming Con Men, & Lethal Assassins | What’s Hot in YA

Sundquist_We should hang out

From Ally Condie’s /Atlantia to Jason Reynolds’s The Boy in the Black Suit, these latest books for teens will inspire, infuriate, and tug at the hearstrings (and nerves) of readers.

Stolen Kisses | Romances to Tempt Teen Readers

like no other

Conjuring up illicit but intoxicating chance meeting and burning passion, forbidden love is a tried-and-true trope that teens gravitate toward.

Fabulous Debuts, Dark Fantasies, and Haunting Tales | What’s Hot in YA

SLJ1409-BK-Fic9up_Lu

Annie Cardi and Dawn O’Porter’s debut novels deal with tough stuff and Brenna Yovanoff and Cat Winters return with spooky works that are sure to give teens nightmares. From surreal fiction to pulled-from-the-headlines nonfiction, the following titles will hook young adults and have them asking for more.

Preapocalyptic Time-Travel, Turn-of-the-Century California, and High School Drama | YA Fiction Series Update

SLJ1409w_FicSeries-TN

SLJ presents the latest updates in YA fiction series and the conclusions of some trilogies you won’t want to miss. Your teens won’t want to miss these series continuations, from dystopic science fiction to realistic high school stories to historical fiction.

This article was published in School Library Journal's September 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Playing With the Narrative | SLJ Spotlight

SLJ1408-Spotlight-9up-Narr-TN

These teen fiction titles stretch the limits with twists on the traditional narrative.

Novels in Verse, Literary Street Lit, and High-Interest Nonfiction | What’s Hot in YA

How it Went Down Magoon

Kekla Magoon’s How It Went Down about a black teen who is shot by a white man, is especially timely with recent events in Ferguson, Missouri, and just the right title for young adults grappling with streaming headlines. And, a new book from the queen of verse novels, Ellen Hopkins, will entice fans of the format. The following fiction and nonfiction titles for teens will be perfect for late-summer reading and back-to-school shelf-browsing.

Constructing a Life | A Conversation with Isabel Quintero

gabix

“Adults forget what it is like to be a teen—that on their way to becoming adults they are often faced with situations they don’t know how to react or respond to. I often hear adults say, ‘In my day young women/men didn’t behave this way or that way.’ I have to laugh because, yes they did!”

Sister, Sister: Sibling Drama in Young Adult Literature

sisters

Delving into everything from rivalries and heartbreaks to cold shoulders and warm embraces, three recent young adult novels each explore a facet of that bond among young women coming of age simultaneously, bound by blood, and, often, friendship.

Art Heist Capers, Super-Powered Fantasies, and Creepy Horror Tales | What’s Hot in YA

Kiss of Deception

With works by heavy hitters such as Scott Westerfeld, Gregory Maguire, Andrew Smith, Katherine Paterson, Jacqueline Woodson, and Maggie Stiefvater, this month’s column is chock-full of upcoming YA and nonfiction titles that will have teens adding to overflowing TBR piles.

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

July Starred Reviews

SLJ1407w-BK-Star_Russel-TNl

Ben Franklin makes a splash, Hervé Tullet mixes it up, and Mo Willems makes new friends in the July stars, offering the best of fiction, nonfiction, and multimedia.

This article was published in School Library Journal's July 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Star-crossed Love, Diabolical Mean Girls, and Unsolved Historical Mysteries | What’s Hot in YA

otherbound

Looking for titles to share for the summer reading crowd? The following picks will intrigue teens looking for their next YA fix, whether it be the latest in science fiction, graphic novels, DIY guides, or heartbreaking true stories.

Bone-Chilling Horror Stories |SLJ Spotlight

SLJ1406w-Fic_9upspot

A collection of frightening fiction for young adult readers.

Scandals, First Love, and Genre-Bending Fantasy | Gr 9 & Up Fiction Reviews

SLJ1406w-BKFic_9up-TN

Whether teens are looking for the next The Fault in Our Stars readalike (A.J. Betts’s Zac & Mia) or a fantasy-infused gender-bending novel (Corinne Duyvis’s ,em>Otherbound), check out the following titles recently reviewed for young adults in SLJ’s June issue.

This article was published in School Library Journal's June 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

A Hitchcockian Mystery, Magical Footwear, and More| Grades 5-8 Fiction Reviews

SLJ1406w-BKFic_5-8-TN

Newly reviewed middle grade titles include several intriguing mysteries, some magical adventure stories, and a selection of graphic novels.

This article was published in School Library Journal's June 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.