October 5, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ

These *Are* the Books You’re Looking For | A “Star Wars” Roundup


Just in time for Star Wars Reads Day on October 10, librarian Christopher Lassen selects a variety of new “Star Wars” titles guaranteed to awaken the Force in readers in this galaxy or any other.

“Funny Bones”: Celebrating the Day of the Dead


As November approaches, consider these two new books on the Day of the Dead/Día de los Muertos.

All In A School Day | Picture-Book Perspectives

I'm new here

A selection of new picture books touch upon commonplace situations that are often part of the school experience, exhibiting sensitivity to their young protagonists’ perspectives.

Forays into Foreign Territory | Teens Forging an Identity

all american

Immersing readers in the minds of the male protagonists, these three recent coming-of-age YA novels awaken teens to settings, people, and ideas they might not otherwise have encountered.

Companions Steadfast and True | Great Books about Imaginary Friends


Ranging from picture books to novels, this selection of fun-filled tales about pretend pals celebrate unfailing friendship, effervescent individuality, and the prodigious power of imagination.

Celebrating Literacy: Kids as Readers, Writers, and Imaginers

the whisper

Filled with imagination-stirring moments and an intrinsic appreciation for the many joys of reading, these engaging picture books cast young protagonists in the role of creator, inspiring children to go forth and dream big.

The Allure of the Unsettling | New Middle Grade Fantasy


Meet a ratter, a girl with telepathic abilities, and an otherworldly creature in new middle grade fantasy titles that walk the line between light and dark and comfort and creepy with aplomb.

Hot Read-Alikes for “Maze Runner” and “Mockingjay” Film Fans | Media Mania

Dove Arising

As teens wait for the release of the second Maze Runner and Mockingjay Part 2 films, hand them these thrilling sci-fi read-alikes.

Looking for a Back-to-School Chapter Book Read-Aloud? Don’t Miss These!


Looking for a good chapter book read aloud for the first days of school? We surveyed our readers and reviewers about the titles they have been recommending lately. Here are their responses.

It’s Back to School |Stories to Share


Whether realistically told or delightfully over the top, these back-to-school stories remind kids that first-day butterflies are perfectly normal and demonstrate that though problems may be encountered, they can also be surmounted.

Ten Years Later: Hurricane Katrina


Published to coincide with the 10-year anniversary of Hurricane Katrina, several new titles revisit this moment in history with clarity, compassion, and an appreciation for the resiliency demonstrated by those impacted.

Secrets and Lies | New YA Fiction


During high school many teens try on a variety of personas before figuring out who they are—exactly. In these recent young adult titles the stakes are raised for the purposes of deception, profit—and human connection.

“Paper Towns” and Other Epic Road Trip Titles in YA Lit


As buzz builds for the film adaptation of John Green’s Paper Towns, check out the following selections, all of which feature summertime journeys and epic odysseys.

Heists, Cons, and High-Octane Action: New Movies and Teen Reads

Trust Me I'm Lying

Devotees of Vin Diesel’s “The Fast and the Furious” film franchise are gearing up for the release of Furious 7 on April 3. Fans of these films and book series about teen criminals will be captivated by these action-packed tales of caper-filled cons and bodacious burglaries.

Intelligent Machines: Robots in Film and Teen Fiction


Catch the eye of teens who love movie and TV robots with a lineup of titles that run diagnostics on coming-of-age themes and personhood conundrums while also providing plenty of gear-turning, technology-pushing, cyborg-centered action.

A Passion for Fashion | Stylish Nonfiction Titles for Teens

Vintage Fashion Complete

Whether riveted to reality TV design shows, thumbing through fashion mags or surfing blogs, trend-spotting at the mall, or mix-matching items from their own closets, teens have a passion for fashion.

Bewitching Readalikes for Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” in Honor of “Seventh Son” Film


Another reader-favorite young adult book series makes its big-screen debut on February 6. Based on Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” adventure/fantasy series, Seventh Son is set during a time of enchantment, when supernatural evil threatens all of humankind.

Unbroken: The Movie, the Book, and Standout World War II Readalikes


The buzz on Unbroken, the Angelina Jolie produced and directed film hitting theaters on December 25, is growing. Based on Laura Hillenbrand’s adult title of the same name, the movie is sure to provoke interest in the YA adaptation and other World War II era works for teens.

The ‘Red Band Society’ and Beyond: YA Novels About Life, Death, and Love


Filled with humor and heartbreak, poignant emotion, and amazing instances of courage, these young adult offerings are sure to captivate fans of the Red Band Society TV show and John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars.

The Big Screen’s ‘Dear White People’ and a Roundup of Not-to-Miss YA Novels

Black Boy White School

Dear White People, written and directed by Justin Simien, takes a satirical look at race relations in America. Be prepared for the October 17 premiere with a selection of books for teens that deal with intolerance, civil rights, and racism.