June 26, 2016

Subscribe to SLJ

11 YA Thrillers That Would Make Lois Duncan Proud

11-YA-Thrillers-TN

The queen of the teen thriller died on June 15, and the YA world will never be the same. In remembrance of Lois Duncan, we share recent YA thrillers that share the same suspense, plot twists, and unforgettable characters that Duncan is celebrated for.

Take Wing | Books About Birds for Budding Naturalists

MyFirst-Bk-Birds-Valerio-TN

A selection of informational books and stories that will help children learn the basic characteristics of birds, differentiate between species, and appreciate the amazing diversity of the creatures that inhabit our world.

Coding: Resources To Get You Started

how to code in 10

So you want to teach a class on coding. Where do you start?! Here are some ideas.

You Gotta Have Heart: Out-of-the-Park Baseball Novels For Middle Grade Readers

000Hero Two Doors Down

Unforgettable protagonists, narratives peppered with baseball action and atmosphere, and heart-stirring emotions make these recently released sports novels crackerjack reads.

The Olympics Are Coming! Great Sports Reads for Teens

Olympics_Sports

Percolating with athletic action, these titles also include smartly treated coming-of-age themes that will captivate sports fanatics and couch potatoes alike.

Green Thumbs and Bountiful Imaginations | Great Books about Gardens

EH160428_NightGardener

Whether they are digging, planting, nibbling, nurturing, or dreaming, the characters in these colorful picture books convey the wonder and joy of things that blossom.

Earth Day | It’s a Green Thing

EH160425_Green

Looking for resources to educate students about critical environmental issues? Start with a K–12 Toolkit provided by the Earth Day Network, and some recently published books on the topic.

Painting Pictures with Words | Books for National Poetry Month

EH160428_Poetry

These recently published poetry offerings will captivate students with their enchanting blend of eloquent words and eye-grabbing images.

Magic in Our World | Spring 2016 Middle Grade Fantasy

midnight war of mateo martinez

Exploring topics from grief to bullying in settings both contemporary and historical, a trio of 2016 titles mine real-world emotions and situations—and top them off with dashes of magic, horror, and talking skunks.

Disco Inferno | Watch- and Listen-Alikes for Meg Medina’s “Burn Baby Burn”

25982606

Set in Queens during the summer of 1977, when the Son of Sam terrorized the city of New York, Meg Medina’s Burn Baby Burn is filled with pop culture references, from Donna Summer to Parliament. Steer teen fans of the book to songs and films from the period.

Magic, Dastardly Villains, and Less-Than-Perfect Heroes: New YA Fantasy

Dennard_Truthwitch-5

Tempt fantasy fans with this spectacular sampling of recent genre titles that reflect this enticing smorgasbord of settings and subject matter, feature diverse casts, and treat an alluring array of coming-of-age themes.

Great Books To Welcome Spring

when spring comes

Highlight the sights and sounds of the season, celebrate the reawakening of nature, and accentuate buoyant themes of transformation and hopefulness in this selection of picture books old and new.

Browsers’ Delights | Animal Compendiums

amazing animals

Three new, generously illustrated animal books offer young browsers more than an afternoon of delight.

American Girls | Historical Fiction Featuring Feisty Females

SLJTeen160309_FeistyFemales

Looking for strong female characters in stories steeped in period detail to recommend for Women’s History Month? Share these exciting new young adult novels and short stories with your patrons.

Disrupters, Daredevils, and Artists: Women Who Changed the World

Rappaport, Doreen. Elizabeth Started All the Trouble

Celebrate Women’s History Month by sharing a picture book biography about a boundary-breaking, world-transforming, awe-inspiring individual.

Something Beautiful | Spring 2016 Titles for and About Latinos

Spring Latino Books-Campoy

Librarian Lucia Acosta set out to find new books that had a Hispanic character, theme, or backdrop on the floor of the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting in January 2016. Check out these selections of titles by and about Latinos, publishing this spring.

Great Books: A Bullish Market for Bears

EH160218_BKs-Market-Bears

Ranging from factual to fantastical, reassuring to rambunctious, bedtime-worthy to sidesplitting read-aloud, this selection of picture books starring ursine protagonists is sure to captivate young readers and listeners.

Celebrating African American History

EH-1604-Celebrating-African-American-History

Through compelling stories, dynamic texts, and striking artwork, this selection of recently published picture books highlights trailblazing African Americans.

Nonfiction Notes: Spotlight on Space

space junk

As we learn more about the cosmos, it’s essential to replace older books with up-to-date titles. Here are a few to fill the gaps on your shelves.

Beyond the Stars: Sci-Fi YA Read-Alikes for “The 5th Wave” Fans

SciFi-YA-5thWave-TN

The film adaptation of Rick Yancey’s YA The 5th Wave comes to theaters on January 22. Teens will be rushing to the library in search of the source material; offer them these new and upcoming sci-fi read-alikes.