Google+

February 5, 2016

Subscribe to SLJ

Celebrating African American History

EH-1604-Celebrating-African-American-History

Through compelling stories, dynamic texts, and striking artwork, this selection of recently published picture books highlights trailblazing African Americans.

Nonfiction Notes: Spotlight on Space

space junk

As we learn more about the cosmos, it’s essential to replace older books with up-to-date titles. Here are a few to fill the gaps on your shelves.

Beyond the Stars: Sci-Fi YA Read-Alikes for “The 5th Wave” Fans

SciFi-YA-5thWave-TN

The film adaptation of Rick Yancey’s YA The 5th Wave comes to theaters on January 22. Teens will be rushing to the library in search of the source material; offer them these new and upcoming sci-fi read-alikes.

Celebrating African Americans: The Arts

jacob lawrence

Handsomely illustrated and eloquently told, these picture book biographies offer insightful introductions to noteworthy African Americans who have defined their place in the world by following their passions and pursuing their art.

May the Facts Be with You | Mind-Boggling Stats, Marvels, and Daredevil Feats

ARLON, Penelope. The Ultimate Book of Randomly Awesome Facts

While sometimes seen as lightweight, frivolous fare or eye candy, record books and almanacs can help students develop an understanding of measurement, draw historical comparisons, and make connections, and are often the gateway to the enjoyment of other nonfiction titles.

The Shadow Knows | Fact and Fiction About the Groundhog’s Claim to Fame

EH160202_groundhog_TN

While there’s much written about the groundhog and Groundhog Day, it’s not always clear how much of it is based on fact—which is why a look into the habits and behaviors of this rodent offers a great opportunity for classroom research.

Give the Gift of Music | A “Great Books” List

music2

Ranging in format from illuminating biographical stories to engaging fictional narratives, these picture books published during 2015 celebrate the power of music to lift hearts and change lives.

Regency Romps to Celebrate the 200th Anniversary of Jane Austen’s “Emma”

Emma_small

In honor of the 200th anniversary of Emma’s publication, check out these recent Austen-inspired titles for teens.

Allons-y! A Time Lord’s Guide to Great “Doctor Who” Read-Alikes

EH151210_DrWho

Librarian Christopher Lassen presents a roundup of titles for tween and teen die-hard and soon-to-be Doctor Who fans.

Creature Features | Starring the Best of the New Animal Compendiums

creaturepedia

Look into the formidable eyes of an Eastern Hog-Nosed Snake, stare down the toothy jaws of a crocodile, spy some razor-clawed flying prehistoric bipeds, and take a peek at the more than 130 cat breeds in these compendiums of animals past and present.

Something Old, Something New | Old Favorites and New Trends in Easy Readers

MOOOOO

While favorite authors from Dr. Seuss to Mo Willems remain perennial favorites with our earliest readers, each year brings new authors and titles to share with this audience.

All Around the Town | Great Books About Buses

EH151201_Buses_TN

Featuring school buses, city buses, international mini-buses, and even a dino bus, this round-up of winsome transportation tales will tickle funny bones and fire up imaginations.

Beyond the Headlines | Featuring Technology and National Issues

painting for peace

From cyberattacks and idisorders to wrongful convictions and medical ethics, a selection of new nonfiction books provides depth and context to topics of current interest.

Ordinary Kids, Extraordinary Circumstances: World War II Fiction for Middle Grade Readers

into the killing seas

Set against a backdrop of dramatic world events, three engrossing and vividly written novels provide glimpses at history from the relatable perspectives of their young narrators.

Exploring America’s Past: Historical Fiction for Middle Grade Readers

EH151110_HistFic

Three new superbly written books feature unique protagonists with compelling points of view and provide insight into the experiences of others, while underscoring the extraordinary courage of otherwise ordinary kids

Cooking Up Some Fun | Recipes for Young Chefs

EH151110_cookbooks

As the holiday season approaches don’t forget to stock your shelves with a few cookbooks.

Teen vs. Nature: Spine-Tingling Wilderness Survival Stories

EH151103_TN_Wilderness

Whether braving hurricane-force winds on the Atlantic Ocean or finding themselves lost and alone on the Appalachian Trail, these teen protagonists face extreme circumstances that require them to dig deep for the courage, acumen, and constancy needed to look death in the eye and survive another day.

Haunted Houses & Headless Horsemen: Halloween Apps | Touch and Go

witch

Halloween is here! From classic to contemporary stories (and a bit of augmented reality thrown in for good measure) we have apps for every age and sensibility.

Monster Mayhem | Great Read-Alouds for Inspiring Shivers and Giggles

Monsters1

Starring creatures that range from creepy to comical, these not-too-scary offerings are a treat for sharing at Halloween and all year long.

From Ziggurats to Skyscrapers | What We Build and How We Live

take shelter

This eye-opening selection of books about buildings and architecture provide a wealth of opportunities for exploring various cross-curricular topics including art, science, environmental studies, history, and cultural studies.