Google+

September 2, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ

Hot Read-Alikes for “Maze Runner” and “Mockingjay” Film Fans | Media Mania

Dove Arising

As teens wait for the release of the second Maze Runner and Mockingjay Part 2 films, hand them these thrilling sci-fi read-alikes.

Looking for a Back-to-School Chapter Book Read-Aloud? Don’t Miss These!

readAloud-banner-TN

Looking for a good chapter book read aloud for the first days of school? We surveyed our readers and reviewers about the titles they have been recommending lately. Here are their responses.

It’s Back to School |Stories to Share

dadsfirstday

Whether realistically told or delightfully over the top, these back-to-school stories remind kids that first-day butterflies are perfectly normal and demonstrate that though problems may be encountered, they can also be surmounted.

Ten Years Later: Hurricane Katrina

drownedcity

Published to coincide with the 10-year anniversary of Hurricane Katrina, several new titles revisit this moment in history with clarity, compassion, and an appreciation for the resiliency demonstrated by those impacted.

Secrets and Lies | New YA Fiction

EH_150714_SecretsLies2

During high school many teens try on a variety of personas before figuring out who they are—exactly. In these recent young adult titles the stakes are raised for the purposes of deception, profit—and human connection.

“Paper Towns” and Other Epic Road Trip Titles in YA Lit

papertowns-tie-in

As buzz builds for the film adaptation of John Green’s Paper Towns, check out the following selections, all of which feature summertime journeys and epic odysseys.

Heists, Cons, and High-Octane Action: New Movies and Teen Reads

Trust Me I'm Lying

Devotees of Vin Diesel’s “The Fast and the Furious” film franchise are gearing up for the release of Furious 7 on April 3. Fans of these films and book series about teen criminals will be captivated by these action-packed tales of caper-filled cons and bodacious burglaries.

Intelligent Machines: Robots in Film and Teen Fiction

Robots8

Catch the eye of teens who love movie and TV robots with a lineup of titles that run diagnostics on coming-of-age themes and personhood conundrums while also providing plenty of gear-turning, technology-pushing, cyborg-centered action.

A Passion for Fashion | Stylish Nonfiction Titles for Teens

Vintage Fashion Complete

Whether riveted to reality TV design shows, thumbing through fashion mags or surfing blogs, trend-spotting at the mall, or mix-matching items from their own closets, teens have a passion for fashion.

Bewitching Readalikes for Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” in Honor of “Seventh Son” Film

seventhsonmovie

Another reader-favorite young adult book series makes its big-screen debut on February 6. Based on Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” adventure/fantasy series, Seventh Son is set during a time of enchantment, when supernatural evil threatens all of humankind.

Unbroken: The Movie, the Book, and Standout World War II Readalikes

Unbroken.1

The buzz on Unbroken, the Angelina Jolie produced and directed film hitting theaters on December 25, is growing. Based on Laura Hillenbrand’s adult title of the same name, the movie is sure to provoke interest in the YA adaptation and other World War II era works for teens.

The ‘Red Band Society’ and Beyond: YA Novels About Life, Death, and Love

redbandsociety

Filled with humor and heartbreak, poignant emotion, and amazing instances of courage, these young adult offerings are sure to captivate fans of the Red Band Society TV show and John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars.

The Big Screen’s ‘Dear White People’ and a Roundup of Not-to-Miss YA Novels

Black Boy White School

Dear White People, written and directed by Justin Simien, takes a satirical look at race relations in America. Be prepared for the October 17 premiere with a selection of books for teens that deal with intolerance, civil rights, and racism.

Meet Teddy, FDR, and Eleanor: Great Books About the Roosevelts

roos4

The Roosevelts: An Intimate History, Ken Burns’s seven-part documentary film about the lives of Theodore, Franklin, and Eleanor Roosevelt, recently premiered on PBS. Ranging from picture-book accounts to more in-depth biographies, the books featured here will both inform and inspire.

‘The Giver’ Movie and other Tales for Teens About a World Gone Wrong

Illusive

First published in 1993, Lois Lowry’s The Giver makes its long-awaited big screen debut on August 15. Recommend these recent YA releases to fans of the unforgettable dystopian novel.

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

Page to Screen: Kid & YA Lit Flicks to Look Forward to After ‘The Fault in Our Stars’

If_I_Stay_1

With the success of Divergent and The Book Thief, Hollywood continues to tap kid’s books, from classic fairy tales to the latest dystopian, for new ideas. To celebrate the highly the anticipated big screen version of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, starring Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort, SLJ has compiled a list of upcoming projects that will be coming to a screen near you.

Tom Cruise’s Sci-Fi Thriller and a Round-Up of Out-of-this-World Reads for Teens

End of Tomorrow

Edge of Tomorrow, an adrenaline-charged blockbuster, blasts into theaters on June 6. Whether dipping into time-touring paradoxes, unwelcome alien intruders, the perilous consequences of science misused, or warp-velocity adventure, the riveting reads assembled here will reel in moviegoers as well as genre enthusiasts.

Marvel Superhero Blowout: Captain America, Spiderman, and the X-men | Media Mania

Xmen No More Humans

This spring has brought a bumper crop of big-budget films about the adventures of shield-flinging, skyscraper-swinging, mutation-mastering heroes. Supercharge your holdings and movie tie-in book displays by including this selection of preludes, adaptations, story sources and inspirations, and suggested reads about popular Marvel characters.

AMC’s New Series, ‘Turn’, and Electrifying Espionage Reads | Media Mania

Turn1

AMC’s new series, Turn, based on Alexander Rose’s Washington’s Spies, will certainly generate new interest in the American Revolutionary War. We’ve rounded up a great list of titles for teens to dig into when they come to you for more on the Culper Ring and this fascinating time in our nation’s history.