Google+

August 28, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

Supporting Common Core Standards with Audiobooks| Listen In

SLJ1408w-FT_ListenIn-TN

Many of the standards from the College and Career Readiness Anchor Standards for Reading were well supported by selected audiobooks.

This article was published in School Library Journal's August 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Celebrating Titles that “Mind the Gap” at ‘The Horn Book’ at Simmons Event │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

EH_140826_jlgbooks

It’s not too late to register for the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to celebrate this year’s Boston Globe-Horn Book award recipients at the Mind the Gap event at Simmons College on October 10. In the meantime, brush up on the winning titles by reading the following booktalks and checking out the resources for teaching them.

‘Til We Meet Again: New Series Installments for Intermediate Readers │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

Frank Einstein

Children in second through fourth grades often exhaust a complete series in a matter of weeks. Check out the following chapter books selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild that feature characters undergoing the same hijinks and adventures as their young readers.

Buried Treasure: Real and Imagined Adventure Titles | Focus On

SLJ1408w-FocusOn-TN

The following is a treasure trove of titles that are bound to capture the attention and spark the imaginations of readers. They are chock-full of action, adventure, and derring-do, guaranteed to keep the pages turning.

This article was published in School Library Journal's August 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Sister, Sister: Sibling Drama in Young Adult Literature

sisters

Delving into everything from rivalries and heartbreaks to cold shoulders and warm embraces, three recent young adult novels each explore a facet of that bond among young women coming of age simultaneously, bound by blood, and, often, friendship.

New Series Entries for Independent Readers │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

Greatest Star on Earth

From Amber Brown to fairly new-on-the-scene Magician Mike Lane, beloved characters are welcomed by young readers. When a well-loved author introduces a new series, librarians also sit up and take notice. The following titles selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild offer independent readers the comfort of well-known friends

Queens Library to Offer PreK Class in Fall 2015

QueensLibrary

In light of New York City Mayor Bill DeBlasio’s push to open 33,000 PreK spots in NYC, the Queens Library Woodhaven branch will offer, for the first time, a PreK class for 18 kids starting this September.

Backpacks, Lunch Boxes, and Giggles Galore: Back-to-School Adventures

ninjaboygoestoschool

This year’s crop of back-to-school titles balances familiar elements with inventive plots to explore commonplace qualms and quandaries with creativity and pizzazz.

Interactive & Imaginative: New Apps for Young Children | Touch and Go

Interior image from "How I Became a Pirate" (Oceanhouse Media) Shannon

This week we highlight three apps for children preschool-grade one: a multimedia production to reinforce concepts and two flights of fancy. What do they have in common? In a word, action!

‘The Giver’ Movie and other Tales for Teens About a World Gone Wrong

Illusive

First published in 1993, Lois Lowry’s The Giver makes its long-awaited big screen debut on August 15. Recommend these recent YA releases to fans of the unforgettable dystopian novel.

History That Bears Repeating: Picture Book Nonfiction │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

Stubby the War Dog

Fascinating narrative nonfiction satisfies the curriculum while quenching kids’ thirst for a riveting story. The following selections by the editors at Junior Library Guild, including picture books about Gandhi and Stubby the War Dog, will intrigue young readers.

More from the Class of 2014 YA Debut Novelists | JLG’s Booktalks to Go Teen

Half Bad

The Class of 2014 YA debut novelists continues to launch into literary fame. The assembled titles have already gathered nine starred reviews and are sure to leave their mark on readers and YA literature.

Apps & More for Makerspaces | Mix It Up

SLJ1408w_FT_MIXUP_Robot-TN

A school and public librarian collaborate on the inaugural “Mix It Up” column, focusing on apps, websites, and other tools for makerspaces and maker programming.

This article was published in School Library Journal's August 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Field Trip to the Animal Kingdom | Great Books About Zoos

What's New? The Zoo!

From a lonely gorilla to a confused moose to a missing koala, these great titles will inspire real and imagined trips to the zoo.

The Numberlys Imag.N.O.Tron | Touch and Go

photo

Find out what Moonbot Studios, that “secret zero-gravity colony inhabited by interstellar beings” in Shreveport, LA, has been up to. Once again, it defies reality.

Grunt, Quack, Oink | Focus On Animal Books

SLJ1407-FT_FO-pig-TN

From preschool to middle grade, these nonfiction titles explore the animal kingdom and all its wild ways.

This article was published in School Library Journal's July 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Delivering Quality Spanish-Language Books: The Guadalajara International Book Fair | Consider the Source

22300586

How can we bring high quality Spanish-language books into American libraries? The Guadalajara International Book Fair is one answer.

SummerTeen 2014 Authors Hit the Mark with New Releases │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

Like No Other

SLJ’s SummerTeen 2014 is nearly upon us. This free event on July 24 features some of the best YA authors―up close and personal. Check out the latest releases from the featured guests. Resources for the selected titles are included in this column’s award-winning LiveBinder.

‘Gatsby’ and ‘Brideshead Revisited’ Readalikes for Teens | SLJ Spotlight

even in paradise

Chelsey Philpot’s Even in Paradise and Charles Finch’s The Last Enchantments explore the lush secret lives of the rich and privileged.

Scary, Creepy, and Dangerous: Novels to Read in One Gulp │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

EH_140715_JLG_Creepy

With a little danger, some suspense, and a dose of the supernatural, these middle grade titles selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild will have kids reading long past their curfew.