Google+

January 27, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ

Stellar Beginning Chapter Books for Young Readers │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

EH_150127_JLGBooktalks

From a new work by renowned author Cornelia Funke to a sweet book by newcomer John Himmelman, these wonderful selections by the editors at Junior Library Guild will appeal to emerging readers.

Shakespearean Resources | Mix It Up

SLJ1501w-MixItUp_Shakespeare-TN

Shake up your Shakespeare lessons and inject new life into curriculum units and assignments on the Bard with this list of interactive apps, websites, humorous books, and other inventive resources.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2015 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Predators, Pollinators, and Prairie Dogs: An Ecosystem Revealed | Touch and Go

photo 1

The release of Dawn Publications’s “The Prairie that Nature Built” a new app based on Marybeth Lorbiecki’s the book of the same title (2014), continues the publisher’s strong commitment to environmental education.

Show But Don’t Tell: Must-Have Wordless Picture Books │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

EH_150113_JLGBooktalker

Wordless picture books allow readers to interpret their own stories. Check out these booktalks and resources for fun 2014 works, such as Aaron Becker’s sequel to the acclaimed Journey and graphic novel–inspired Bow-Wow’s Nightmare Neighbors.

“Four Centuries, Four Families, One Delicious Treat” | Spotlight

dessert

In “A Fine Dessert” Emily Jenkins and Sophie Blackall tell the story of how the creation of one dessert—blackberry fool—has changed over the centuries. It’s a perfect choice for a sharing with a class, or as a group-reading selection.

Water, Water, Everywhere… | Our Unsustainable Future

waterfootprint

Simply put, our current use of freshwater resources is unsustainable. Two new books explain why—and outline the dimensions of the crisis.

Reach for the Stars | Out-of-This-World Astronomy Titles

Planets

Amid info and images streaming from the Mars rover Curiosity, updates about NASA’s evolving plans to capture and explore a near-Earth asteroid and headlines about privately owned companies such as SpaceX and Virgin Galactic, space and space exploration have become hot topics.

Changing the World | New Books about African American History

seedsoffreedom

Utilizing a variety of literary forms, writing techniques, and illustrative styles, four 2015 books convey information in a powerful and personal manner, making history accessible—and enticing—to young readers.

“Stephen Hawking’s Snaphots of the Universe” |On the iPad

snapshots

In this “fun introduction to big concepts in astronomy,” students will engage in a variety of interactive experiments, illuminated by the lucid text.

Middle Grade Novels for Spanish-language and Latino Lit Collections | Libro por libro

SLJ1501w-Libro-TN

Tim Wadham shares an eclectic mix of Spanish-language and Latino-starring novels for upper-elementary and middle school children.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2015 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Bewitching Readalikes for Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” in Honor of “Seventh Son” Film

seventhsonmovie

Another reader-favorite young adult book series makes its big-screen debut on February 6. Based on Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” adventure/fantasy series, Seventh Son is set during a time of enchantment, when supernatural evil threatens all of humankind.

Tissue Box Novels for Middle Graders | JLG’s Booktalks to Go

EH_150106_JLG_thumb

This week’s column features books with kids who are struggling in school. From a young girl who lost her hearing to a boy who is having trouble remembering his spelling words, the protagonists in these heartwarming middle grade novels selected by the editors at Junior Library Guild will inspire empathy in young readers.

And the Winners Are: Teen Lit Award Contenders │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

popular

With the American Library Association Midwinter meeting just weeks away, all eyes turn to lists of the best releases of 2014. Water cooler conversations and social media heat up with passionate discussion of fan favorites. Who will be the winners of the coveted prizes?

Junior Library Guild Announces New Book Categories for 2015

JLG-new levels

Junior Library Guild announces seven new book categories available to its customers starting in January 6.

Who Am I? Why Am I Here?: Considering the Big Questions| Focus On

SLJ1412-FO-Opener-Believerock-TN

A selection of fiction and nonfiction titles for children and teens that explore faith, spirituality, and existential concerns.

This article was published in School Library Journal's December 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Between a Rock and a Hard Place: Characters with Tough Choices │ JLG’s Booktalks to Go

eh_141216_JLG_BT

We all make difficult choices. Some are harder than others. In the following selections by the editors at Junior Library Guild, kids fight with their siblings, adjust to parents with chronic illnesses, and fight racial prejudice. Sharing these titles with your middle graders will show them that they are not alone.

The Human Body—Animated | Touch and Go

photo-207

Through detailed diagrams, informative animations, and a few exercises, two colorful apps offer students up-close, interactive looks at human body systems.

Hearing the World: Fiction and nonfiction audiobooks from around the globe | Listen In

SLJ1412w-ListenIn-Opener-TN

December brings with it the close of the calendar year, giving us time to reflect on and celebrate the diversity of our world’s cultures. Audiobooks, especially those that represent common human experiences and examine global heritage and customs, afford listeners an opportunity to hear stories from around the world.

This article was published in School Library Journal's December 2014 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Bibliotherapy for Teens: An Expanded Booklist

MentalHealth_readerlist_TN

Our November feature article and booklist “Bibliotherapy for Teens” by Erin E. Moulton received an outpouring of positive feedback from readers. Here’s an updated booklist with readers’ suggestions.

Riffs on Classic Tales | New Fiction for Young Adults

141209_SwayTN

A number of young adult authors continue to adapt, interpret, and honor classic novels and short stories in tales that have proven to be fascinating companion titles to explore in classrooms or as independent reading choices.