Google+

February 11, 2016

Subscribe to SLJ

Secret Societies, Psychopaths, and Murder | Adult Books 4 Teens

Oxford inheritance_macdonald_

An unreliable narrator with amnesia, a secret society orchestrating conspiracies, a decades-old mystery springing back to life: the novels in the latest Adult Books 4 Teens column contain just about every ingredient we’ve come to know and love in contemporary suspense thrillers.

Evy’s First Impressions

What prompts a teen to pick up one book instead of another? Evy dug through Heather’s big old box-o-books and picked four to take home. What did she pick and why? This TLT Teen Advisory Board member is an avid YouTube fan, so she decided to tell you in a video. Thanks Evy! Books discussed: […]

All Aboard DADA Trains | Touch and Go

DADA trains

Chances are that if you know any children, you know some that are fascinated with trains. Here’s an interactive app that will put them behind the control panels.

Freedom in Congo Square | An Interview with Carole Boston Weatherford

congo square

Carole Boston Weatherford is known for her many award-winning books—both nonfiction and poetry— that combine careful historical research with breathtaking lyricism. Her latest book imagines the anticipation and exhilaration of a few hours of freedom experienced by enslaved Africans in early 19th-century New Orleans.

Celebrating African American History

EH-1604-Celebrating-African-American-History

Through compelling stories, dynamic texts, and striking artwork, this selection of recently published picture books highlights trailblazing African Americans.

Spellbound | Captivating Read-Alouds

EH1604-Birdsall-Penderwicks-Spring

Looking for a read-aloud that will entertain, enthrall, intrigue, and elucidate?

Nonfiction Notes: Spotlight on Space

space junk

As we learn more about the cosmos, it’s essential to replace older books with up-to-date titles. Here are a few to fill the gaps on your shelves.

Great Science Fiction for Middle Graders | Focus On

1601_FocusOn-CVs-TN

Middle grade sci-fi titles that start with reality-based ideas and then blast off.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2016 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Gregory Maguire’s “After Alice,” Speculative Fiction, and More | Adult Books 4 Teens

After Alice

Mark Flowers looks at a wide assortment of speculative fiction titles and a book that seems like it should be science fiction but is actually nonfiction.

Coloring Books Make the Leap to Digital | Touch and Go

SLJTeen160127_millie

With the release of Millie Marotta’s Coloring Adventure,/em> for the iPad, it appears the coloring book trend has successfully made the leap to digital.

24 Tools for Digital Art and Music Creation | Mix It Up

1601_MIU_TN

Librarians Stacy Dillon and Amy Laughlin recommend free or cheap apps and websites that allow kids to create, remix, and experiment with art and sound.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2016 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Wuwu & Co. | Touch and Go

EH160121_TG-WuApp

At first glance, Merete Pryds Helle’s Wuwu &Co. appears to be one of those apps in which a soothing narrator reads a story. But when readers are told to “pick up the book,” a new level of interactivity is revealed.

Multicultural Music for Children

1601_Music-DiazTN

Music spans every culture, and exposing students to diverse musical offerings is a great way to expand their outlook on the world. These performers and record labels will help build or enhance your bilingual and multicultural resources.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2016 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Nosy Crow’s “Goldilocks and Little Bear”| Touch and Go

EH160114_TG-Goldilocks

Nosy Crow, the developer known for its delightful—and quirky—contemporary remakes of classic folktales has just marked its fifth year in business with the release of another favorite children’s story.

Beyond the Stars: Sci-Fi YA Read-Alikes for “The 5th Wave” Fans

SciFi-YA-5thWave-TN

The film adaptation of Rick Yancey’s YA The 5th Wave comes to theaters on January 22. Teens will be rushing to the library in search of the source material; offer them these new and upcoming sci-fi read-alikes.

Celebrating African Americans: The Arts

jacob lawrence

Handsomely illustrated and eloquently told, these picture book biographies offer insightful introductions to noteworthy African Americans who have defined their place in the world by following their passions and pursuing their art.

May the Facts Be with You | Mind-Boggling Stats, Marvels, and Daredevil Feats

ARLON, Penelope. The Ultimate Book of Randomly Awesome Facts

While sometimes seen as lightweight, frivolous fare or eye candy, record books and almanacs can help students develop an understanding of measurement, draw historical comparisons, and make connections, and are often the gateway to the enjoyment of other nonfiction titles.

The Shadow Knows | Fact and Fiction About the Groundhog’s Claim to Fame

EH160202_groundhog_TN

While there’s much written about the groundhog and Groundhog Day, it’s not always clear how much of it is based on fact—which is why a look into the habits and behaviors of this rodent offers a great opportunity for classroom research.

Spanish-Language Apps: A Starter Collection| Touch and Go

Screen from ABC Action (

Share the free Joan Ganz Cooney Center’s Spanish-language guide to using apps with children, Apps en familia, and our bilingual (and multilingual) app recommendations for children with the parents who use your library. If you don’t have Spanish-language apps on your library devices, it’s time to start a collection.

Looking Back, Looking Ahead: Celebrating 20 Years of the Pura Belpré Award | Libro por libro

1601_Libro-snapshots-of-wedding-TN

This year marks the 20th presentation of the Pura Belpré awards, and a huge celebration is being planned for ALA Annual in June. Tim Wadham takes stock of the trends and themes that recur in the winning titles, all of which affirm the Latino cultural experience.

This article was published in School Library Journal's January 2016 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.