Google+

September 3, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ

Nicola Yoon Spills “Everything, Everything” About Her YA Debut

Nicola-Yoon-Author

SLJ chats with Nicola Yoon, debut author of the YA novel Everything, Everything.

Hot Read-Alikes for “Maze Runner” and “Mockingjay” Film Fans | Media Mania

Dove Arising

As teens wait for the release of the second Maze Runner and Mockingjay Part 2 films, hand them these thrilling sci-fi read-alikes.

Four NYC Publishers, One Epic Season: Rocco Staino’s Peek at Upcoming Fall Titles

Rocco

SLJ contributing editor Rocco Staino shares highlights from this past spring’s NYC publisher previews and offers a peek into some of the books coming out this fall season.

Hand in Hand: Kathryn Otoshi on Her Collaboration with Bret Baumgarten for “Beautiful Hands”

Kathryn Otoshi and Bret Baumgarten

SLJ chats with picture book artist and publisher, Kathryn Otoshi, about her latest book and the inspiring story behind its creation.

SPONSORED: Stars for Kat Spears’s “Breakaway”!

Breakaway

St. Martin’s Griffin presents advance readers e-galleys of librarian Kat Spears’s sophomore novel, Breakaway, which has already garnered several starred reviews.

Reviewers and Bloggers: Prepare for KidLitCon 2015, October 9–10, in Baltimore

KidlitconLogo2015

Registration is now open for the annual festival of book love known as KidLitCon, for people who write about children’s and young adult literature.

Jason Reynolds on Building Houses and Affirming Young Lives | SummerTeen 2015

Jason_Reynolds_TN

The coauthor of “All American Boys” and 2015 SummerTeen keynoter describes how his family, music, and teen years shaped his outlook and ambitions as a writer. Watch a video of Reynolds’s speech.

Minding the Curriculum Gaps | Consider the Source

Marc 2

It is a form of generosity for authors to give young adults access to important histories—histories that are no less crucial simply because they are not yet required reading or don’t appear on standardized tests.

Librarians Prepare for Students’ Response to “Go Set a Watchman”

Cover Curiosity: Go Set a Watchman and To Kill a Mockingbird

School librarians from Alabama to New York City are assessing the role they can play in fostering discussions around Harper Lee’s controversial text.

Podcast Party: A Curated List of Nine Teen-Friendly Podcasts

SLJTeen_150819_PodcastParty

In celebration of The Yarn podcast, created by SLJ blogger Travis Jonker and Colby Sharp, teen librarian Robin Brenner has curated a roundup of podcasts to recommend to young adults who are both new to and well-versed in the format.

Capstone Launches PebbleGo Dinosaurs Database Module

PebbleGoDinosaurs_1

PebbleGo Dinosaurs, for pre-K through second grade, features articles related to more than 125 dinosaurs, such as ankylosaurus, stegosaurus, triceratops, tyrannosaurus rex, and velociraptor.

Strike Up the Band | M.T. Anderson and the Story Behind the Leningrad Symphony

mt_anderson_TN

SLJ chats with M.T. Anderson, SummerTeen speaker, about his first work of narrative nonfiction, Symphony for the City of the Dead, and the power of music to change lives and make history.

Librarians Tackle Body Shaming via “Size Acceptance in YA” Tumblr

SLJTeen150722-SizeAcceptYA

On June 1, Faythe Arredondo, Sarah Hannah Gómez, Kelly Jensen, and Angie Manfredi, four bloggers, readers, and (mostly) librarians launched the “Size Acceptance in YA” Tumblr examining “fatness, fatphobia, body shaming, body policing, body objectification, and all other things relating to size and body acceptance in YA literature.”

Brooklyn Fifth Graders Publish Books to Help Rhinos and Elephants

EH_150714_Rhino

Students from P.S. 107 in Brooklyn, NY, have written and published two books about endangered animals, gained the endorsement of Jane Goodall and the World Conservation Society, and raised thousands of dollars to protect elephants and rhinos.

Pictures of the Week: Author Kate Beaton Chats with Book Sellers, Librarians

A girl and her pony: Kate Beaton poses with a plush version of the pony from her book.

Author and comics artist Kate Beaton had dinner with librarians and book sellers at New York City’s Hundred Acres to promote her first picture book, The Princess and the Pony.

“Caldetatts”: Santat and 2015 Caldecott Committee Members Get Inked

2015 Caldecott committee member Angela Reynolds's custom tattoo of Beekle holding a jellybean.

Following the Youth Media Awards in January and the conclusion of the ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco, several librarians and fellow book-loving industry folk cemented their love of the winning and honored titles by getting Caldecott-themed body art.

In the Recording Studio with Jack Gantos

gantos2a

SLJ catches up with Jack Gantos as he records the audio for his new book, The Trouble in Me.

Lee & Low Wins INDIEFAB Award; “Selma for Students” | News Bites

EH_9_23_14_NEWSBITES3

Lee & Low Wins INDIEFAB’s Publisher of the Year Award; Paramount will give a “Selma” DVD to all U.S. high schools; ParentSquare CEO receives Spirit of Entrepreneurship Award; and more industry news.

Teaching With the #CharlestonSyllabus

EH_150630_CharlestonTweet

Librarians and teachers across the country are planning to use the #CharlestonSyllabus in classes this fall and will refer to it when purchasing future books.

Scenes from the ALA National Conference | ALA 2015

El Deafo Cake

Snapshots of honored authors, jubilant librarians, the newly engaged, and more from the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco.