November 17, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

Just the Facts: Reader-Ready Nonfiction for Secondary Students

These thoroughly researched and visually appealing new nonfiction titles are sure to reel in older readers right from the get-go.

NanoBots by Chris Gall | SLJ Review

Gall, Chris. NanoBots. illus. by Chris Gall. 40p. Little, Brown. Aug. 2016. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9780316375528. 

PreS-Gr 2 –Hard at work in his musty basement, a brilliant young inventor constructs a crew of mighty but minute NanoBots, each with its own special skill and the ability to change the world. For example, MechanoBots can infiltrate the “hardest-to-reach places” and fix anything with their built-in tool arrays; HeloBots utilize rotors to fly in swarms and can form […]

Great Books for a Summer’s Eve

A selection of books to initiate discussions of nature’s nocturnal mysteries, and inspire dream journeys.

Grab Them with Graphic Novels

Featuring concise narratives, vivacious artwork, and page-turning comic book formats, these recently published graphic novels make compelling choices for encouraging and empowering young readers.

Take Wing | Books About Birds for Budding Naturalists

A selection of informational books and stories that will help children learn the basic characteristics of birds, differentiate between species, and appreciate the amazing diversity of the creatures that inhabit our world.

Busy Hands, Engaged Minds, and Unfettered Imaginations: A Craft Book Round-Up

Chock-full of hands-on activities for indoor and outdoor spaces, these splendid books encourage kids to learn new skills, be creative, and have some serious fun.

The Blobfish Book by Jessica Olien | SLJ Review

Olien, Jessica. The Blobfish Book. illus. by Jessica Olien. 40p. websites. HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray. May 2016. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9780062394156. 

PreS-Gr 2 –A misunderstood deep-sea dweller gets its moment in the sun in this tongue-in-cheek informational picture book. The bubble-gum pink blobfish is sketched onto the pages of a nonfiction work that presents facts about and photos of the fascinating creatures that live miles beneath the ocean surface. Snappy dialogue balloons and humorously exaggerated cartoon features […]

You Gotta Have Heart: Out-of-the-Park Baseball Novels For Middle Grade Readers

Unforgettable protagonists, narratives peppered with baseball action and atmosphere, and heart-stirring emotions make these recently released sports novels crackerjack reads.

The Olympics Are Coming! Great Sports Reads for Teens

Percolating with athletic action, these titles also include smartly treated coming-of-age themes that will captivate sports fanatics and couch potatoes alike.

Green Thumbs and Bountiful Imaginations | Great Books about Gardens

Whether they are digging, planting, nibbling, nurturing, or dreaming, the characters in these colorful picture books convey the wonder and joy of things that blossom.

Painting Pictures with Words | Books for National Poetry Month

These recently published poetry offerings will captivate students with their enchanting blend of eloquent words and eye-grabbing images.

Otters, Emus, and Sharks, Oh My! | Informational Picture Books To Share

Ignite interest in the natural world with a look at some of the planet’s most fascinating and diverse inhabitants in offerings packed with kid appeal.

Magic, Dastardly Villains, and Less-Than-Perfect Heroes: New YA Fantasy

Tempt fantasy fans with this spectacular sampling of recent genre titles that reflect this enticing smorgasbord of settings and subject matter, feature diverse casts, and treat an alluring array of coming-of-age themes.

Great Books To Welcome Spring

Highlight the sights and sounds of the season, celebrate the reawakening of nature, and accentuate buoyant themes of transformation and hopefulness in this selection of picture books old and new.

Disrupters, Daredevils, and Artists: Women Who Changed the World

Celebrate Women’s History Month by sharing a picture book biography about a boundary-breaking, world-transforming, awe-inspiring individual.

Great Books: A Bullish Market for Bears

Ranging from factual to fantastical, reassuring to rambunctious, bedtime-worthy to sidesplitting read-aloud, this selection of picture books starring ursine protagonists is sure to captivate young readers and listeners.

Celebrating African American History

Through compelling stories, dynamic texts, and striking artwork, this selection of recently published picture books highlights trailblazing African Americans.

Beyond the Stars: Sci-Fi YA Read-Alikes for “The 5th Wave” Fans

The film adaptation of Rick Yancey’s YA The 5th Wave comes to theaters on January 22. Teens will be rushing to the library in search of the source material; offer them these new and upcoming sci-fi read-alikes.

Celebrating African Americans: The Arts

Handsomely illustrated and eloquently told, these picture book biographies offer insightful introductions to noteworthy African Americans who have defined their place in the world by following their passions and pursuing their art.

Give the Gift of Music | A “Great Books” List

Ranging in format from illuminating biographical stories to engaging fictional narratives, these picture books published during 2015 celebrate the power of music to lift hearts and change lives.