Google+

March 3, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ
Joy Fleishhacker

About Joy Fleishhacker

Joy Fleishhacker is a librarian, former SLJ staffer, and freelance editor and writer who lives in southern Colorado. She spends most of her free time meeting the needs of the three voracious readers in her household.

Intelligent Machines: Robots in Film and Teen Fiction

Robots8

Catch the eye of teens who love movie and TV robots with a lineup of titles that run diagnostics on coming-of-age themes and personhood conundrums while also providing plenty of gear-turning, technology-pushing, cyborg-centered action.

March Madness & Hoop Dreams | Great Books about Basketball

thefinalfour

Looking for titles to satisfy patrons who’ve caught March Madness fever? Searching for the next book to hand fans of The Crossover? From stats to free verse to early basketball history, this list’s got game.

Water: Earth’s Most Precious Resource

notadroptodrink

Recently, factors such as drought, climate change, and increased demand have raised concerns about the availability of and access to safe drinking water across the globe. Prepare for World Water Day on March 22 with titles that incorporate science, geography and history, and environmental and social issues.

Inventors, Innovators, and Inspirers | Great Picture Book Biographies

Franklinbigsplash

Splendid for sharing aloud or reading independently, these engaging biographies introduce fascinating individuals, spark interest in diverse subjects, and encourage kids to think about their own lives and their place in the world.

A Passion for Fashion | Stylish Nonfiction Titles for Teens

Vintage Fashion Complete

Whether riveted to reality TV design shows, thumbing through fashion mags or surfing blogs, trend-spotting at the mall, or mix-matching items from their own closets, teens have a passion for fashion.

Reach for the Stars | Out-of-This-World Astronomy Titles

Planets

Amid info and images streaming from the Mars rover Curiosity, updates about NASA’s evolving plans to capture and explore a near-Earth asteroid and headlines about privately owned companies such as SpaceX and Virgin Galactic, space and space exploration have become hot topics.

Changing the World | New Books about African American History

seedsoffreedom

Utilizing a variety of literary forms, writing techniques, and illustrative styles, four 2015 books convey information in a powerful and personal manner, making history accessible—and enticing—to young readers.

Bewitching Readalikes for Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” in Honor of “Seventh Son” Film

seventhsonmovie

Another reader-favorite young adult book series makes its big-screen debut on February 6. Based on Joseph Delaney’s “The Last Apprentice” adventure/fantasy series, Seventh Son is set during a time of enchantment, when supernatural evil threatens all of humankind.

Frosty Days and Warm Hearts | Great Books to Celebrate Winter

First Snow

Embrace and celebrate the turn of the season with these wondrous and delightful stories featuring record-breaking blizzards and gentle snowy adventures.

Feed the Need | Facts for Fact Hounds

141209_Lists_Quizzes_f

Driven by natural inquisitiveness and personal interests, many children find the volumes in series such as ‘Guinness World Records’ and ‘Ripley’s Believe It or Not’ irresistible. Here are a few other titles that will feed the informational needs of fact hounds.

Minding Your Ps and Qs | Great Books about Good Manners

boasbadbirthday

From banishing elbows on the table to understanding 21st century social media etiquette, these books offer fun and funny ways to introduce (and remind) kids about cultivating good manners.

Unbroken: The Movie, the Book, and Standout World War II Readalikes

Unbroken.1

The buzz on Unbroken, the Angelina Jolie produced and directed film hitting theaters on December 25, is growing. Based on Laura Hillenbrand’s adult title of the same name, the movie is sure to provoke interest in the YA adaptation and other World War II era works for teens.

In the Line of Fire: Perspectives on War

lilne of

Although they focus on different historical events, represent various viewpoints, and employ an assortment of formats, three new titles offer riveting perspectives of war and its devastating effects.

A Trio of Trailblazing Performers

leontyneprice

Three new picture books about three African American women born in the early 20th century resound with compelling storytelling, expressive artwork, and a sonorous message about overcoming obstacles and following one’s dreams.

The ‘Red Band Society’ and Beyond: YA Novels About Life, Death, and Love

redbandsociety

Filled with humor and heartbreak, poignant emotion, and amazing instances of courage, these young adult offerings are sure to captivate fans of the Red Band Society TV show and John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars.

From Easy Readers to First Chapter Books | Titles to Ease the Transition

chickensquad

This sampling of well-written, pleasingly illustrated books formatted with independent readers in mind will help students make the transition from easy readers to longer chapter books.

Fall Fun: Great Books About Autumn

EH_141009_AUtumnBooks

Revel in crisp, cool days while sharing these lyrical and information-packed picture books about the shift in seasons.

The Big Screen’s ‘Dear White People’ and a Roundup of Not-to-Miss YA Novels

Black Boy White School

Dear White People, written and directed by Justin Simien, takes a satirical look at race relations in America. Be prepared for the October 17 premiere with a selection of books for teens that deal with intolerance, civil rights, and racism.

Spine-Tingling Stories for Older Readers

throughthewoods

Spellbinding, shocking, and satisfyingly spooky, creepy tales will rivet readers and raise goose bumps galore. They can also be shared in secondary classrooms to introduce and explore basic short story elements, discuss narrative voice, and analyze point of view.

Meet Teddy, FDR, and Eleanor: Great Books About the Roosevelts

roos4

The Roosevelts: An Intimate History, Ken Burns’s seven-part documentary film about the lives of Theodore, Franklin, and Eleanor Roosevelt, recently premiered on PBS. Ranging from picture-book accounts to more in-depth biographies, the books featured here will both inform and inspire.