September 29, 2016

Subscribe to SLJ
Joy Fleishhacker

About Joy Fleishhacker

Joy Fleishhacker is a librarian, former SLJ staffer, and freelance editor and writer who works at the Pikes Peak Library District in southern Colorado.

Great Books: Mini-Makers

eh160927_minimaker

Starring kids who passionately craft, construct, concoct, and dream big, these enchanting picture books celebrate creativity and innovation.

Familiar and Fun: Literary Classics Reimagined for Teens

sljtn160920_litclassics

With freshly envisioned settings, revved-up story lines, reconfigured characters, and timeless themes, these new YA retellings of well-known works are well worth adding to your shelves.

Just the Facts: Reader-Ready Nonfiction for Secondary Students

Vietnam

These thoroughly researched and visually appealing new nonfiction titles are sure to reel in older readers right from the get-go.

NanoBots by Chris Gall | SLJ Review

NanoBots by Chris Gall

Gall, Chris. NanoBots. illus. by Chris Gall. 40p. Little, Brown. Aug. 2016. Tr $16.99. ISBN 9780316375528. 

PreS-Gr 2 –Hard at work in his musty basement, a brilliant young inventor constructs a crew of mighty but minute NanoBots, each with its own special skill and the ability to change the world. For example, MechanoBots can infiltrate the “hardest-to-reach places” and fix anything with their built-in tool arrays; HeloBots utilize rotors to fly in swarms and can form […]

Great Books for a Summer’s Eve

EH160809_SummersEve

A selection of books to initiate discussions of nature’s nocturnal mysteries, and inspire dream journeys.

Grab Them with Graphic Novels

Dog Man

Featuring concise narratives, vivacious artwork, and page-turning comic book formats, these recently published graphic novels make compelling choices for encouraging and empowering young readers.

Take Wing | Books About Birds for Budding Naturalists

MyFirst-Bk-Birds-Valerio-TN

A selection of informational books and stories that will help children learn the basic characteristics of birds, differentiate between species, and appreciate the amazing diversity of the creatures that inhabit our world.

Busy Hands, Engaged Minds, and Unfettered Imaginations: A Craft Book Round-Up

Crafts1

Chock-full of hands-on activities for indoor and outdoor spaces, these splendid books encourage kids to learn new skills, be creative, and have some serious fun.

The Blobfish Book by Jessica Olien | SLJ Review

The Blobfish Book

Olien, Jessica. The Blobfish Book. illus. by Jessica Olien. 40p. websites. HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray. May 2016. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9780062394156. 

PreS-Gr 2 –A misunderstood deep-sea dweller gets its moment in the sun in this tongue-in-cheek informational picture book. The bubble-gum pink blobfish is sketched onto the pages of a nonfiction work that presents facts about and photos of the fascinating creatures that live miles beneath the ocean surface. Snappy dialogue balloons and humorously exaggerated cartoon features […]

You Gotta Have Heart: Out-of-the-Park Baseball Novels For Middle Grade Readers

000Hero Two Doors Down

Unforgettable protagonists, narratives peppered with baseball action and atmosphere, and heart-stirring emotions make these recently released sports novels crackerjack reads.

The Olympics Are Coming! Great Sports Reads for Teens

Olympics_Sports

Percolating with athletic action, these titles also include smartly treated coming-of-age themes that will captivate sports fanatics and couch potatoes alike.

Green Thumbs and Bountiful Imaginations | Great Books about Gardens

EH160428_NightGardener

Whether they are digging, planting, nibbling, nurturing, or dreaming, the characters in these colorful picture books convey the wonder and joy of things that blossom.

Painting Pictures with Words | Books for National Poetry Month

EH160428_Poetry

These recently published poetry offerings will captivate students with their enchanting blend of eloquent words and eye-grabbing images.

Otters, Emus, and Sharks, Oh My! | Informational Picture Books To Share

EH160419_OttersInfo

Ignite interest in the natural world with a look at some of the planet’s most fascinating and diverse inhabitants in offerings packed with kid appeal.

Magic, Dastardly Villains, and Less-Than-Perfect Heroes: New YA Fantasy

Dennard_Truthwitch-5

Tempt fantasy fans with this spectacular sampling of recent genre titles that reflect this enticing smorgasbord of settings and subject matter, feature diverse casts, and treat an alluring array of coming-of-age themes.

Great Books To Welcome Spring

when spring comes

Highlight the sights and sounds of the season, celebrate the reawakening of nature, and accentuate buoyant themes of transformation and hopefulness in this selection of picture books old and new.

Disrupters, Daredevils, and Artists: Women Who Changed the World

Rappaport, Doreen. Elizabeth Started All the Trouble

Celebrate Women’s History Month by sharing a picture book biography about a boundary-breaking, world-transforming, awe-inspiring individual.

Great Books: A Bullish Market for Bears

EH160218_BKs-Market-Bears

Ranging from factual to fantastical, reassuring to rambunctious, bedtime-worthy to sidesplitting read-aloud, this selection of picture books starring ursine protagonists is sure to captivate young readers and listeners.

Celebrating African American History

EH-1604-Celebrating-African-American-History

Through compelling stories, dynamic texts, and striking artwork, this selection of recently published picture books highlights trailblazing African Americans.

Beyond the Stars: Sci-Fi YA Read-Alikes for “The 5th Wave” Fans

SciFi-YA-5thWave-TN

The film adaptation of Rick Yancey’s YA The 5th Wave comes to theaters on January 22. Teens will be rushing to the library in search of the source material; offer them these new and upcoming sci-fi read-alikes.