Google+

February 11, 2016

Subscribe to SLJ
Joy Fleishhacker

About Joy Fleishhacker

Joy Fleishhacker is a librarian, former SLJ staffer, and freelance editor and writer who works at the Pikes Peak Library District in southern Colorado.

Celebrating African American History

EH-1604-Celebrating-African-American-History

Through compelling stories, dynamic texts, and striking artwork, this selection of recently published picture books highlights trailblazing African Americans.

Beyond the Stars: Sci-Fi YA Read-Alikes for “The 5th Wave” Fans

SciFi-YA-5thWave-TN

The film adaptation of Rick Yancey’s YA The 5th Wave comes to theaters on January 22. Teens will be rushing to the library in search of the source material; offer them these new and upcoming sci-fi read-alikes.

Celebrating African Americans: The Arts

jacob lawrence

Handsomely illustrated and eloquently told, these picture book biographies offer insightful introductions to noteworthy African Americans who have defined their place in the world by following their passions and pursuing their art.

Give the Gift of Music | A “Great Books” List

music2

Ranging in format from illuminating biographical stories to engaging fictional narratives, these picture books published during 2015 celebrate the power of music to lift hearts and change lives.

Inside and Outside the Human Body: A Closer Look

Human-Body-Theater-Cover-743x1028

Employing a variety of narrative approaches and illustrative styles, these up-to-date, lively presentations impart basic information about human biology.

All Around the Town | Great Books About Buses

EH151201_Buses_TN

Featuring school buses, city buses, international mini-buses, and even a dino bus, this round-up of winsome transportation tales will tickle funny bones and fire up imaginations.

Ordinary Kids, Extraordinary Circumstances: World War II Fiction for Middle Grade Readers

into the killing seas

Set against a backdrop of dramatic world events, three engrossing and vividly written novels provide glimpses at history from the relatable perspectives of their young narrators.

Exploring America’s Past: Historical Fiction for Middle Grade Readers

EH151110_HistFic

Three new superbly written books feature unique protagonists with compelling points of view and provide insight into the experiences of others, while underscoring the extraordinary courage of otherwise ordinary kids

Cooking Up Some Fun | Recipes for Young Chefs

EH151110_cookbooks

As the holiday season approaches don’t forget to stock your shelves with a few cookbooks.

Teen vs. Nature: Spine-Tingling Wilderness Survival Stories

EH151103_TN_Wilderness

Whether braving hurricane-force winds on the Atlantic Ocean or finding themselves lost and alone on the Appalachian Trail, these teen protagonists face extreme circumstances that require them to dig deep for the courage, acumen, and constancy needed to look death in the eye and survive another day.

Monster Mayhem | Great Read-Alouds for Inspiring Shivers and Giggles

Monsters1

Starring creatures that range from creepy to comical, these not-too-scary offerings are a treat for sharing at Halloween and all year long.

From Ziggurats to Skyscrapers | What We Build and How We Live

take shelter

This eye-opening selection of books about buildings and architecture provide a wealth of opportunities for exploring various cross-curricular topics including art, science, environmental studies, history, and cultural studies.

All In A School Day | Picture-Book Perspectives

I'm new here

A selection of new picture books touch upon commonplace situations that are often part of the school experience, exhibiting sensitivity to their young protagonists’ perspectives.

Companions Steadfast and True | Great Books about Imaginary Friends

Leo

Ranging from picture books to novels, this selection of fun-filled tales about pretend pals celebrate unfailing friendship, effervescent individuality, and the prodigious power of imagination.

Celebrating Literacy: Kids as Readers, Writers, and Imaginers

the whisper

Filled with imagination-stirring moments and an intrinsic appreciation for the many joys of reading, these engaging picture books cast young protagonists in the role of creator, inspiring children to go forth and dream big.

Hot Read-Alikes for “Maze Runner” and “Mockingjay” Film Fans | Media Mania

Dove Arising

As teens wait for the release of the second Maze Runner and Mockingjay Part 2 films, hand them these thrilling sci-fi read-alikes.

It’s Back to School |Stories to Share

dadsfirstday

Whether realistically told or delightfully over the top, these back-to-school stories remind kids that first-day butterflies are perfectly normal and demonstrate that though problems may be encountered, they can also be surmounted.

Ten Years Later: Hurricane Katrina

drownedcity

Published to coincide with the 10-year anniversary of Hurricane Katrina, several new titles revisit this moment in history with clarity, compassion, and an appreciation for the resiliency demonstrated by those impacted.

“Paper Towns” and Other Epic Road Trip Titles in YA Lit

papertowns-tie-in

As buzz builds for the film adaptation of John Green’s Paper Towns, check out the following selections, all of which feature summertime journeys and epic odysseys.

Fun in the Sun | Great Books for Summertime Sharing

EH150625-SummertimeFun

Suffused with blue skies, dazzling sunshine, and lighthearted adventure, these picture books are just right for summer storytimes, reading lists, and book displays.