October 8, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ
Joy Fleishhacker

About Joy Fleishhacker

Joy Fleishhacker is a librarian, former SLJ staffer, and freelance editor and writer who lives in southern Colorado. She spends most of her free time meeting the needs of the three voracious readers in her household.

All In A School Day | Picture-Book Perspectives

I'm new here

A selection of new picture books touch upon commonplace situations that are often part of the school experience, exhibiting sensitivity to their young protagonists’ perspectives.

Companions Steadfast and True | Great Books about Imaginary Friends


Ranging from picture books to novels, this selection of fun-filled tales about pretend pals celebrate unfailing friendship, effervescent individuality, and the prodigious power of imagination.

Celebrating Literacy: Kids as Readers, Writers, and Imaginers

the whisper

Filled with imagination-stirring moments and an intrinsic appreciation for the many joys of reading, these engaging picture books cast young protagonists in the role of creator, inspiring children to go forth and dream big.

Hot Read-Alikes for “Maze Runner” and “Mockingjay” Film Fans | Media Mania

Dove Arising

As teens wait for the release of the second Maze Runner and Mockingjay Part 2 films, hand them these thrilling sci-fi read-alikes.

It’s Back to School |Stories to Share


Whether realistically told or delightfully over the top, these back-to-school stories remind kids that first-day butterflies are perfectly normal and demonstrate that though problems may be encountered, they can also be surmounted.

Ten Years Later: Hurricane Katrina


Published to coincide with the 10-year anniversary of Hurricane Katrina, several new titles revisit this moment in history with clarity, compassion, and an appreciation for the resiliency demonstrated by those impacted.

“Paper Towns” and Other Epic Road Trip Titles in YA Lit


As buzz builds for the film adaptation of John Green’s Paper Towns, check out the following selections, all of which feature summertime journeys and epic odysseys.

Fun in the Sun | Great Books for Summertime Sharing


Suffused with blue skies, dazzling sunshine, and lighthearted adventure, these picture books are just right for summer storytimes, reading lists, and book displays.

Whale Watching|Those Magnificent—and Vulnerable—Leviathans


Encourage kids to dive into this selection of informational and fictional picture books to learn more about the largest animals on the planet.

It’s Not All Death, Dystopia, and Disaster: YA Novels to Tickle the Funny Bone


Filled with memorable characters and laugh-out-loud moments, these entertaining tales of friendship, love, and self-discovery explore coming-of-age themes with spot-on insight and large doses of humor.

Take Wing | New Books About Birds


Use these fun-to-share offerings that utilize a variety of formats, illustrative styles, and narrative focuses to support a unit on birds, facilitate comparisons between different informational texts, and encourage imaginations to soar.

Read It, Make It, Eat It | Great Picture Books with Recipes

AAACora Cooks Pancit

Delicious picture books that feature appended recipes sure to delight readers and eaters alike.

Dig Into the Past and Soar to the Stars: Diverse Genre Fiction for Teens


Representing a sampling of favorite YA genres, these stand-out, hot-off-the-press novels have been penned by authors of varied ethnic backgrounds and/or feature protagonists who are as wonderfully diverse as the books’ teen audiences.

Farm to Table: The Food We Eat, the World We Live In


Serve these titles up as part of units on life science, health and nutrition, community workers, ecology, and the conservation of natural resources.

Heists, Cons, and High-Octane Action: New Movies and Teen Reads

Trust Me I'm Lying

Devotees of Vin Diesel’s “The Fast and the Furious” film franchise are gearing up for the release of Furious 7 on April 3. Fans of these films and book series about teen criminals will be captivated by these action-packed tales of caper-filled cons and bodacious burglaries.

Fun with Folktales | Revisiting Old Favorites


Most elementary-aged children have already met Goldilocks and Little Red Riding Hood in their literary travels—try introducing them to some modern retellings that mingle familiar elements with fresh and imagination-stretching innovations.

Intelligent Machines: Robots in Film and Teen Fiction


Catch the eye of teens who love movie and TV robots with a lineup of titles that run diagnostics on coming-of-age themes and personhood conundrums while also providing plenty of gear-turning, technology-pushing, cyborg-centered action.

March Madness & Hoop Dreams | Great Books about Basketball


Looking for titles to satisfy patrons who’ve caught March Madness fever? Searching for the next book to hand fans of The Crossover? From stats to free verse to early basketball history, this list’s got game.

Water: Earth’s Most Precious Resource


Recently, factors such as drought, climate change, and increased demand have raised concerns about the availability of and access to safe drinking water across the globe. Prepare for World Water Day on March 22 with titles that incorporate science, geography and history, and environmental and social issues.

Inventors, Innovators, and Inspirers | Great Picture Book Biographies


Splendid for sharing aloud or reading independently, these engaging biographies introduce fascinating individuals, spark interest in diverse subjects, and encourage kids to think about their own lives and their place in the world.