May 2, 2016

Subscribe to SLJ
Joy Fleishhacker

About Joy Fleishhacker

Joy Fleishhacker is a librarian, former SLJ staffer, and freelance editor and writer who works at the Pikes Peak Library District in southern Colorado.

Green Thumbs and Bountiful Imaginations | Great Books about Gardens

EH160428_NightGardener

Whether they are digging, planting, nibbling, nurturing, or dreaming, the characters in these colorful picture books convey the wonder and joy of things that blossom.

Painting Pictures with Words | Books for National Poetry Month

EH160428_Poetry

These recently published poetry offerings will captivate students with their enchanting blend of eloquent words and eye-grabbing images.

Otters, Emus, and Sharks, Oh My! | Informational Picture Books To Share

EH160419_OttersInfo

Ignite interest in the natural world with a look at some of the planet’s most fascinating and diverse inhabitants in offerings packed with kid appeal.

Magic, Dastardly Villains, and Less-Than-Perfect Heroes: New YA Fantasy

Dennard_Truthwitch-5

Tempt fantasy fans with this spectacular sampling of recent genre titles that reflect this enticing smorgasbord of settings and subject matter, feature diverse casts, and treat an alluring array of coming-of-age themes.

Great Books To Welcome Spring

when spring comes

Highlight the sights and sounds of the season, celebrate the reawakening of nature, and accentuate buoyant themes of transformation and hopefulness in this selection of picture books old and new.

Disrupters, Daredevils, and Artists: Women Who Changed the World

Rappaport, Doreen. Elizabeth Started All the Trouble

Celebrate Women’s History Month by sharing a picture book biography about a boundary-breaking, world-transforming, awe-inspiring individual.

Great Books: A Bullish Market for Bears

EH160218_BKs-Market-Bears

Ranging from factual to fantastical, reassuring to rambunctious, bedtime-worthy to sidesplitting read-aloud, this selection of picture books starring ursine protagonists is sure to captivate young readers and listeners.

Celebrating African American History

EH-1604-Celebrating-African-American-History

Through compelling stories, dynamic texts, and striking artwork, this selection of recently published picture books highlights trailblazing African Americans.

Beyond the Stars: Sci-Fi YA Read-Alikes for “The 5th Wave” Fans

SciFi-YA-5thWave-TN

The film adaptation of Rick Yancey’s YA The 5th Wave comes to theaters on January 22. Teens will be rushing to the library in search of the source material; offer them these new and upcoming sci-fi read-alikes.

Celebrating African Americans: The Arts

jacob lawrence

Handsomely illustrated and eloquently told, these picture book biographies offer insightful introductions to noteworthy African Americans who have defined their place in the world by following their passions and pursuing their art.

Give the Gift of Music | A “Great Books” List

music2

Ranging in format from illuminating biographical stories to engaging fictional narratives, these picture books published during 2015 celebrate the power of music to lift hearts and change lives.

Inside and Outside the Human Body: A Closer Look

Human-Body-Theater-Cover-743x1028

Employing a variety of narrative approaches and illustrative styles, these up-to-date, lively presentations impart basic information about human biology.

All Around the Town | Great Books About Buses

EH151201_Buses_TN

Featuring school buses, city buses, international mini-buses, and even a dino bus, this round-up of winsome transportation tales will tickle funny bones and fire up imaginations.

Ordinary Kids, Extraordinary Circumstances: World War II Fiction for Middle Grade Readers

into the killing seas

Set against a backdrop of dramatic world events, three engrossing and vividly written novels provide glimpses at history from the relatable perspectives of their young narrators.

Exploring America’s Past: Historical Fiction for Middle Grade Readers

EH151110_HistFic

Three new superbly written books feature unique protagonists with compelling points of view and provide insight into the experiences of others, while underscoring the extraordinary courage of otherwise ordinary kids

Cooking Up Some Fun | Recipes for Young Chefs

EH151110_cookbooks

As the holiday season approaches don’t forget to stock your shelves with a few cookbooks.

Teen vs. Nature: Spine-Tingling Wilderness Survival Stories

EH151103_TN_Wilderness

Whether braving hurricane-force winds on the Atlantic Ocean or finding themselves lost and alone on the Appalachian Trail, these teen protagonists face extreme circumstances that require them to dig deep for the courage, acumen, and constancy needed to look death in the eye and survive another day.

Monster Mayhem | Great Read-Alouds for Inspiring Shivers and Giggles

Monsters1

Starring creatures that range from creepy to comical, these not-too-scary offerings are a treat for sharing at Halloween and all year long.

From Ziggurats to Skyscrapers | What We Build and How We Live

take shelter

This eye-opening selection of books about buildings and architecture provide a wealth of opportunities for exploring various cross-curricular topics including art, science, environmental studies, history, and cultural studies.

All In A School Day | Picture-Book Perspectives

I'm new here

A selection of new picture books touch upon commonplace situations that are often part of the school experience, exhibiting sensitivity to their young protagonists’ perspectives.