November 24, 2017

The Advocate's Toolbox

An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson | SLJ Review

Get the latest SLJ reviews every month, subscribe today and save up to 35%.

redstarRogerson, Margaret. An Enchantment of Ravens. 304p. S. & S./Margaret K. McElderry Bks. Sept. 2017. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9781481497589.

Gr 7 Up –This debut novel offers a lively romantic adventure. Seventeen-year-old Isobel is a talented painter who finds herself in demand by the fair folk, immortal beings captivated by human handicrafts. They pay her in enchantments, which she is careful to phrase in such a way that there can be no loopholes. But her newest client, Rook, is unlike other fair folk she’s met—there is a sorrow behind his eyes. When she captures this in a painting, his status is challenged in his kingdom as fair folk can never be seen to have a flaw. Isobel accompanies Rook on a The Princess Bride–style magical adventure back to his home kingdom, finding along the way that their sparring relationship could turn into something more. Rogerson ably builds this fantasy world through canny details and contemporary dialogue, allowing for an enjoyable read by fantasy and non-fantasy readers alike. She also craftily depicts the power imbalance between Isobel and Rook, offering a refreshing dynamic in which Isobel often comes out on top. ­VERDICT A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance sure to appeal to fans of Holly Black, Diana Wynne Jones, and Sarah J. Maas.–Ann Foster, Saskatoon Public Library, Sask.

This review was published in the School Library Journal September 2017 issue.

 

Share
A Day-Long Celebration of Fandom-Beloved Stories and Characters
Join Library Journal and School Library Journal for our inaugural LibraryCon Live! We’re excited to offer this day-long virtual festival for book nerds, librarians, and fans of graphic novels, sci-fi, and fantasy. Network online with other fans and explore our virtual exhibit hall where you’ll hear directly from publishers about their newest books and engage in live chats with featured authors. You’ll also learn from librarians and industry insiders on how to plan and host your own Comic Con-style event.
Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind

*