November 20, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

Archives for August 2016

“Back to School” | an SLJ Webcomic by Nidhi Chanani

An exclusive SLJ webcomic by the author of the forthcoming graphic novel “Pashmina.”

International Dot Day Enters Eighth Year

On September 15, close to 6 million people will be participating in International Dot Day, a global celebration of creativity based on “The Dot,” a book by Peter H. Reynolds.

Excitement Building for 2016 #AskaCurator Twitter Initiative

Dozens of museum curators worldwide are taking to Twitter on Wednesday, September 14, 2016 to field as many questions as they can.

Libraries Provide Stability for Military Children and Families

Amid the frequent transitions that military children face, libraries are often a welcoming destination. Librarians have been increasing their efforts to connect these families with a variety of services.

TPIB: Photo Word Bookmarks (Or Instagram Photo Booth Strip Looking Bookmarks)

Sometimes I learn about stuff at the library and go home and do it with my kids, but sometimes I do something at home and it turns out to be a great library/Teen MakerSpace activity. The Teen recently turned 14 and she wanted to have a taco birthday. It was very important to me that […]

Alpha, Bravo, Charlie: The Complete Book of Nautical Codes by Sara Gillingham | SLJ Review

Gillingham, Sara. Alpha, Bravo, Charlie: The Complete Book of Nautical Codes. illus. by Sara Gillingham. 120p. Phaidon. May 2016. Tr $19.95. ISBN 9780714871431.  

Gr 2-6 –Nautical codes, flags, and signals presented with examples of the boats and ships that might use them make this a unique and engaging reference for lower and upper elementary students. Letter by letter, A to Z, each nautical signal flag is listed with its name, its current meaning, and a […]

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter | SLJ Review

Porter, Sarah. Vassa in the Night. 304p. ebook available. Tor Teen. Sept. 2016. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9780765380548. 

Gr 9 Up –Sixteen-year-old Vassa Lisa Lowenstein’s mother is dead, and her father is gone. She has a stepmother and two stepsisters. It’s an odd living arrangement but no more peculiar than a lot of things in her working-class Brooklyn neighborhood. The nights have been especially strange, growing longer and longer. When her stepsister sends Vassa out in the […]

Video Games Weekly: Ori and the Blind Forest

Ori and the Blind Forest is not necessarily a new game, but the Xbox One Definitive Edition of the game was just released this past June.  The game has won multiple awards since its initial release in 2014, and is such a good game that you can buy special editions of Xbox consoles with a […]

Interview: John Allison on ‘Bad Machinery’

John Allison’s Bad Machinery is a cheeky, funny story about English schoolchildren who solve mysteries, and now it’s coming out in a new, easier-to-read format. Bad Machinery started out as a webcomic, and you can still read the original in its entirety at Allison’s site (start here, and set aside some time). Then Oni Press […]

Exclusive Book Cover Reveal: CLAYMATES by Dev Petty and Lauren Eldridge

I am a sucker for unique illustration techniques. Photographs, cut paper, painted hands – yes, yes, and well, maybe not (but upon further contemplation, heck yes). Because of this affinity for the unique, an upcoming book called Claymates has been on my radar for a while. It’s written by Dev Petty (author of I Don’t […]

The Magical and Messy Art of Jean-Michel Basquiat | A Conversation with Javaka Steptoe

In his dazzling Radiant Child, Javaka Steptoe explores the life and art of Basquiat through words and pictures.

A “Buzzwangling,” “Dahl-icious” Centennial

Looking for ways to celebrate the Roald Dahl centennial in September? Look no further.

When the Sea Turned to Silver by Grace Lin | SLJ Review

Lin, Grace. When the Sea Turned to Silver. illus. by Grace Lin. 384p. Little, Brown. Oct. 2016. Tr $18.99. ISBN 9780316125925; ebk. $9.99. ISBN 9780316317696. POP  

Gr 3-6 –The Tiger Emperor is conscripting all the men of the mountain villages to build the Vast Wall surrounding the kingdom. But when they reach Pinmei’s village, they also take her grandmother, the Storyteller. In order to save her, Pinmei and her friend Yishan embark on a voyage […]

Conquering Middle School Miasma

There’s no need for kids to muddle through middle school—books can guide the way.

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown | SLJ Review

Brown, Jaye Robin. Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit. 432p. ebook available. HarperCollins/HarperTeen. Aug. 2016. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9780062270986. 

Gr 9 Up –Brown orchestrates a fast-paced narrative that is powerful, moving, and relatable. Jo Gordon, a proudly queer teen, has recently been uprooted from her home in Atlanta to a more rural part of the state during her senior year of high school. Her father also has recently remarried, is a man of faith, and has […]

Go to the Head of the Class | Back-to-School Roundup

This season’s crop of back-to-school picture books will encourage and hearten newbies as well as returning students to the hallowed halls of our institutions of learning.

This article was published in School Library Journal's August 2016 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Book Review: Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown

Publisher’s description Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that’s perfect for fans of Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’ and Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. Joanna […]

#1 Travis and Colby (S1 E1)

Travis: The problem: there are a whole bunch of episodes of The Yarn that are nowhere to be found on The Yarn blog. You see the issue here, right? Today we start to fix that. Let’s begin at the beginning, with the very first episode. Over time we’ll give all the past episodes a proper home […]

RIP Gene Wilder: Children’s Literature’s Avatar

Consider, if you will, the life of Gene Wilder.  Since his death, many people have been doing precisely that.  It makes me happy, but since I’ve harbored a not-so-secret crush on the man for decades (a quick search of this blog will back that up) I felt it necessary to point out that for all […]

Virtual Reality & Augmented Reality: What’s Next

Is there life after Pokémon Go? Get up to speed on VR and AR, with advice from an expert panel on where this fast-evolving technology is headed, and what applications educators can use now.
View On Demand!