June 28, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

Consider by Kristy Acevedo | SLJ Review

Get the latest SLJ reviews every month, subscribe today and save up to 35%.

redstarAcevedo, Kristy. Consider. 288p. (The Holo: Bk. 1). ebook available. Jolly Fish. Apr. 2016. pap. $14.99. ISBN 9781631630583. Consider

Gr 8 Up –If you had the opportunity to escape the cataclysmic destruction of the planet by exiting through a portal to another world, would you take it? That is the choice offered to Earth’s inhabitants on the day Alexandra Lucas’s world comes to a screeching halt. In Alex, Acevedo has developed a fully realized character whose struggles with anxiety are compounded by the threat of impending destruction. Using the vehicle of holograms that stand vigil next to the vertexes and answer questions about the advanced civilization they represent, the author deftly juxtaposes utopia with dystopia. The allure of a better world combined with the deterioration of human behavior in the wake of Earth’s anticipated demise is the perfect way to infuse complex moral issues and deep philosophical questions in a fast-paced adventure that will keep readers compulsively turning pages to see what will happen next. The author manages to weave typical teen profanity—sparingly applied—into prose that contains perfectly precise vocabulary, turns of phrase, and figures of speech in ways that will entice young adults. Readers will appreciate the treatment of relationships, physical intimacy, and pressures to be successful. Educators will welcome the opportunities the book presents for deep thinking. VERDICT Order multiple copies of this must-have for fans of Rick Yancey’s The Fifth Wave and Neal Shusterman’s Unwind.–Jodeana Kruse, R. A. Long High School, Longview, WA

This review was published in the School Library Journal June 2016 issue.

Share
SLJTeen Live! Virtual Conference
Join us on August 9 for SLJTeen Live! This free, entirely virtual conference will feature more than 20 YA author panelists and keynote speakers, plus two hours of panels on innovative and creative approaches to teen services and programming. No teen librarian will want to miss it.