November 22, 2017

The Advocate's Toolbox

Most Popular 2015 Articles of “SLJTeen”

Your clicks have spoken! The following are the top 10 pieces that ran in the SLJTeen newsletter this year. Ranging from tech tips to announcements on the latest award winners, these articles were the ones SLJTeen readers opened most frequently. Pieces about collection development seem to be the trend here, including read-alikes for John Green’s Paper Towns (Dutton, 2008), which was adapted for film this summer. And YA lit–focused posts in general are highly sought after.

Yet it’s no surprise to me which article was the most popular of 2015. Let’s count them all down!

SLJTeen_BestArticles


10. Librarian Molly Wetta Curates SLJ’s Banned Books Pinterest Board
by Shelley Diaz

Looking for inspiration in advance of Banned Books Week (BBW)? Look no further than SLJ’s BBW Pinterest page, curated by blogger and collection development librarian Molly Wetta. (September 15)


9. Paper Towns and Other Epic Road Trip Titles in YA Lit
by Joy Fleishhacker

As buzz builds for the film adaptation of John Green’s Paper Towns, check out the following selections, all of which feature summertime journeys and epic odysseys. (July 1)


8. Six Back-to-School Goals for Teacher Librarians | Tech Tidbits
by Phil Goerner

Librarians can jump-start the school year by setting some essential goals. Here, teacher librarian Phil Goerner tackles his top six objectives and lays out a plan for achieving these goals, which range from creating new maker space projects to engaging teachers in professional development. (August 28)


7. Those Tired Summer Reading Lists. Here’s What to Do.
by Carly Okyle

Many librarians say it’s time to overhaul the whole idea of mandatory reading in June, July, and August. Find out what they’re doing about it—and check out 10 tips to flip the summer reading experience. (April 15)


6. 15 New Manga Series to Freshen Up Teen Collections
by Brigid Alverson

“Good Comics 4 Kids” blogger Brigid Alverson offers a look at 15 new manga series for teens that librarians will want to add to their collections. (July 29)


5. Serving Conservative Teens
by Nicole Jenks May

An educator recommends titles for teen patrons of diverse faiths, along with tips and a working book list. Check out these suggestions, then add your own. (March 4)


4. Take SLJ’s Must-Have YA Poll
by Shelley Diaz

If you could purchase only 100 YA novels for a library serving teens, what would they be? Cast your votes in SLJ’s first-ever Must-Have YA Poll. (November 4)


3. Top Page-to-Screen Adaptations to Put on Your Radar
by Gabrielle Bondi

Media and popular culture expert and founder of TheYoungFolks.com, Gabrielle Bondi, presents the upcoming book-to-film adaptations that teens (and librarians) should put on their to-watch lists. (October 19)


2. Five Finalists Announced for the 2015 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature
by Shelley Diaz

The National Book Foundation has revealed the finalists for the 2015 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature. (October 14)


1. SLJ’s Best of 2015 | Books, Apps, and More
by SLJ Staff and Contributors

From adult books for teens, books by and about Latin@s, and graphic novels, to audiobooks, and DVDs, School Library Journal covered the best of everything in 2015.

SLJTeen header

This article was featured in our free SLJTeen enewsletter.
Subscribe today to have more articles like this delivered to you twice a month.

Shelley Diaz About Shelley Diaz

Shelley M. Diaz (sdiaz@mediasourceinc.com) is School Library Journal's Reviews Team Manager and SLJTeen newsletter editor. She has her MLIS in Public Librarianship with a Certificate in Children’s & YA Services from Queens College, and can be found on Twitter @sdiaz101.

Share