November 17, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

Archives for August 2015

Nicola Yoon Spills “Everything, Everything” About Her YA Debut

SLJ chats with Nicola Yoon, debut author of the YA novel Everything, Everything.

My weekend reviews

Friday night–When Robert C. O’Brien’s 1975 YA Z for Zachariah made it onto the silver screen forty years later, you’d think its post-apocalyptic setting and sturdy heroine would have been enough to give it currency but NO: the famous two-hander is now a lurve triangle, and–spoiler alert–the attempted rape, so controversial in its time, is glossed over […]

The post My weekend reviews appeared first on The Horn Book.

Middle Grade Monday: There’s always next year: Things I’ve learned coordinating middle school volunteers (a guest post)

Our library has two different volunteer programs that I have run for two years now. One is offered for two hours a week, five week sessions, four times during the school year; four weeks of work, the last week is an appreciation party. Registration is maxed at ten. They gather as a group, and act […]

Set the Right Course for Back to School

How do you make sure you’re starting your school year on track and in command? School librarians share their best tips.

This article was published in School Library Journal's September 2015 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Infinite in Between by Carolyn Mackler | SLJ Review

MACKLER, Carolyn. Infinite in Between. 480p. HarperCollins/HarperTeen. Sept. 2015. Tr $17.99. ISBN 9780061731075.

Gr 7 Up–What are the four years spent in high school made up of? Teens tend to focus on the big moments—midterms and finals, homecoming and prom, first dates and first loves. But what about those unexpected battles and victories that truly shape and change them? Mackler follows five young adults from freshman orientation to senior graduation. Jake, Zoe, Whitney, Gregor, and Mia all have their own expectations […]

Hot Read-Alikes for “Maze Runner” and “Mockingjay” Film Fans | Media Mania

As teens wait for the release of the second Maze Runner and Mockingjay Part 2 films, hand them these thrilling sci-fi read-alikes.

The #MHYALit Discussion Hub – Mental Health in Young Adult Literature

After our first year of the #SVYALit Project, we decided that we at TLT liked the way the format worked and wanted to use it to discuss other topics of relevance to the life of teens. One of the ideas we discussed was using the format to discuss mental health issues in the life of […]

Taking It to the Kids—Middle grade author visits

Three middle grade authors reflect on their experiences meeting their readers face-to-face.

This article was published in School Library Journal's August 2015 issue. Subscribe today and save up to 35% off the regular subscription rate.

Preview: ‘Over the Garden Wall’ #1

Over the Garden Wall, a sort of a twisted fairy tale story about two half-brothers trying to find their way home, started out as an animated miniseries on Cartoon Network, and BOOM! Studios published a one-shot comic in their all-ages KaBOOM line. Now they are back with a four-issue series, and the first issue came […]

The Yarn: Where Things Stand and a Call for Ideas

 
The Yarn on Kickstarter:

Listen to The Yarn, Season 1:

Girls: Beyond Eyelashes and Bows

Not too long ago The Guardian had a piece out called Picture books that draw the line against pink stereotypes of girls.  I was keen on it, particularly since in the midst of all these children’s books about breaking down stereotypes, I’ve seen awfully few “tomboy” titles.  Books about girls who won’t wear dresses or […]

“Librarians are how libraries speak.”

I’ve had a deep, abiding love for the writing of Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, ever since she introduced the world to Beyonce, the giant metal chicken, and now it turns out she loves me too. And you. And you.  (It’s a few weeks old, but read it now if you haven’t yet.) Makes your heart […]

Pixar in a box

This week Khan Academy launched a new project that will absolutely engage your math, science and media teachers, and young filmmakers as well. Pixar In A Box is an new online curriculum that analyzes how the studio fuses art, tech, science, engineering, and math to develop top-shelf animated cinema. Created with middle and high school […]

Old Maps on new devices

Teachers and lovers of history and geography are going to love this new app. Old Maps, available for iPhone, iPad or any Android device through Google Play, allows mobile access to more than 250,000 high resolution, historical maps from the 15th to the 20th century, from across the world.  Only a few years ago, we […]

First Second Announces Science Comics, ‘The Prince and the Dressmaker’

We had two interesting announcements from First Second Books in the past few days. First of all, Jen Wang’s The Prince and the Dressmaker was announced on the Diversity in YA Tumblr: The Prince and the Dressmaker is about a young 19th Century prince named Sebastian who secretly loves to wear dresses. He hires an […]

This Is My Home, This Is My School by Jonathan Beam | SLJ Review

BEAN, Jonathan. This Is My Home, This Is My School. illus. by Jonathan Bean. 48p. Farrar. Oct. 2015. Tr $18.99. ISBN 9780374380205. LC 2014040682.
PreS-Gr 1–In his second semi-autobiographical picture book, Bean introduces young audiences to one family’s homeschooling experience. The well-paced narrative draws clear connections between the details of a traditional school environment—with a teacher, a cafeteria, and classrooms—and a homeschool setting—Mom and Dad are the teachers, the kitchen becomes the lunch room, and the house, the yard, the nearby […]

Friday Finds – August 28, 2015

This Week at TLT Sunday Reflections: Today, I am Pooh Bear (reflections on depression in the life of tweens and teens part 2) Middle Grade Monday Book Review – School for Sidekicks by Kelly McCullough Book Review: Bright Lights, Dark Nights by Stephen Emond August #ARCParty All the Dragons in the World – The Depiction […]

Six Back-to-School Goals for Teacher Librarians | Tech Tidbits

Librarians can jump-start the school year by setting some essential goals. Here, teacher librarian Phil Goerner tackles his top six objectives and lays out a plan for achieving these goals, which range from creating new maker space projects to engaging teachers in professional development.

Friday roundup

In a week when everybody is supposed to be away at the beach, the Horn Book has been cranking out stuff for you to read. Beach reading, it’s maybe not, but nevertheless useful and even entertaining, we hope. —Lolly’s Classroom is talking about STEM books and inexpensive sources for classroom libraries. –over on Out of the […]

The post Friday roundup appeared first on The Horn Book.

Four NYC Publishers, One Epic Season: Rocco Staino’s Peek at Upcoming Fall Titles

SLJ contributing editor Rocco Staino shares highlights from this past spring’s NYC publisher previews and offers a peek into some of the books coming out this fall season.