April 15, 2014

Subscribe to SLJ

White House Honors Library “Champions of Change”

The White House today honored 12 museum and library “Champions of Change” who are making a difference “for their neighborhoods and for our nation” in a ceremony in Washington, D.C. Two of the IMLS Champions honorees were named as 2013 Library Journal Movers & Shakers.

The Champions of Change program was created as an opportunity for the White House to feature groups of Americans—individuals, businesses, and organizations—who are doing extraordinary things to empower and inspire members of their communities.trophy2 300x300 White House Honors Library “Champions of Change”

“The honorees are providing powerful learning experiences,” the White House said in a statement. “They are reaching young children and their families with early learning opportunities; offering exciting experiences for teens to develop skills in science, technology, engineering and math; helping immigrants learn English and pursue citizenship; and providing services for hard-to-reach populations so that everyone can succeed in school and in life.”

The honorees are:

Elizabeth Babcock, Ph.D., San Francisco, CA
Chief Public Engagement Office and Roberts Dean of Education, California Academy of Science

David Becker, Chicago, IL
Senior Manager of Learning Experiences, Chicago Zoological Society

Leslie Bushara, New York, NY
Deputy Director, Education and Guest Services, Children’s Museum of Manhattan

Harriet Henderson Coalter, Richmond, VA
Director of Richmond Public Library

Sue Considine, Fayetteville, NY
Executive Director, Fayetteville Free Library

Jamie Hollier, Denver, CO
Owner/Consultant, Anneal

Jennifer Manley, Queens, NY
Vice President, Government & Community Affairs, Queens Borough Public Library

Cheryl McCallum, Ed.D., Houston, TX
Director of Education, Children’s Museum of Houston

Homa Naficy, Hartford, CT
Chief Adult Learning Officer, Hartford Public Library

Gloria Tibbs, Kansas City, MO
Teaching and Learning Services Librarian/Diversity Liaison, University of Missouri – Kansas City Libraries

Sandy Tharp-Thee, Perkins, OK
Library Director, Iowa Tribe of Oklahoma

Matthew Winner*, Columbia, MD
Teacher Librarian, Longfellow Elementary School, Howard County Public Schools, MD


* Read SLJ‘s Up Close interview with Winner on Tuesday, June 18, 2013.

Karyn M. Peterson About Karyn M. Peterson

Karyn M. Peterson ( is a former News Editor ofSLJ.

Comment Policy:
  1. Be respectful, and do not attack the author or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  2. Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  3. Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.

We are not able to monitor every comment that comes through (though some comments with links to multiple URLs are held for spam-check moderation by the system). If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.

We accept clean XHTML in comments, but don't overdo it and please limit the number of links submitted in your comment. For more info, see the full Terms of Use.

Speak Your Mind