May 24, 2015

Subscribe to SLJ

ALA Youth Divisions Announce New Presidents

The American Library Association (ALA) has announced the winners of its elections for the presidents and new board members of its three youth divisions. ALA also announced the members of its 2015 Newbery, Caldecott, Sibert, Printz, Edwards, and Nonfiction Awards committees.

American Association of School Librarians (AASL)
The new President-Elect of AASL is Terri Kirk, Librarian, Reidland High School, Paducah, KY.  Also new to the board are Division Councilor Valerie Edwards, Member-at-Large Jody K. Howard, and Director-Elect Region 6 Carlyn J. Gray.


Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)
The new Vice President and President-Elect of ALSC is Ellen M. Riordan, Chief of Planning, Programs and Partnerships, Enoch Pratt Free Library. Also newly appointed are Fiscal Officer Diane Bailey Foote, New-to-ALSC Board of Director Gretchen Caserotti, and Board of Director Megan Schliesman.

Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)
The new President-Elect of YALSA is Chris Shoemaker, Young Adult Programming Specialist, New York Public Library. Also elected are new board members Maureen Hartman and Krista McKenzie.

Karyn M. Peterson About Karyn M. Peterson

Karyn M. Peterson ( is a former News Editor ofSLJ.

Maker Workshop Build and field-test an educational maker program for your library with guidance from leaders in the maker movement in our 4-week online course: Maker Workshop: Create a Maker Culture at Your Library. Whether you're just getting started or already have a maker program up and running, you'll gain insights to help push your program to the next level, no matter your budget (from $0 to the sky's the limit).

The 4-week course starts on June 3rd; don't wait, learn more and register today!