February 23, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

Apply Now for the 2013 Innovations in Reading Prize

Innovations in Reading PrizeEvery year, the National Book Foundation (NBA) awards a number of prizes of up to $2,500 to individuals and institutions—or partnerships between the two—that have developed innovative ways of creating a lifelong love of reading. This is the fifth year that NBA is offering the 2013 Innovations in Reading Prize, sponsored by Levenger. And wouldn’t you know it? One of the 2012 winners, Bookends (Poudre River Public Library District, CO), found out about the competition right here, in SLJTeen.

Applications for the 2013 Innovations in Reading Prize must be postmarked or emailed by February 20, 2013. All U.S. citizens and American companies are eligible, including nonprofit groups, technology companies, or those in the military. In addition to the prize money, winners will receive an all-expense-paid trip to New York City to attend a luncheon in their honor and invitations to NBA events, such as the National Book Awards dinner and ceremony.

SLJTeen header

This article was featured in our free SLJTeen enewsletter.
Subscribe today to have more articles like this delivered to you twice a month.

Stay Ahead of New Ways to Spark Engagement Through Hands-On Learning
Registration is now open for the fourth installment of Maker Workshop. Back with all new content, this 4-week online course will explore emerging technologies, digital making, STEAM, and web literacy spanning programs and ideas for all ages. This time, we’ll feature special sessions devoted to teen programming ideas and education that you can emulate at your school or public library.