November 20, 2017

Subscribe to SLJ

The Countdown to Seven Is On

The Countdown to Seven Is On! Seven (the series) is coming October 10, 2012. Seven grandsons.  Seven journeys. Seven authors. One amazing series.

SLJTeen exclusive—get the whole series before anyone else! We have seven complete sets to give away. Do you want one? Click here!

The premise: When David McLean, a well-loved grandfather and an avid adventurer, died, he left behind an unusual will that outlined the seven tasks he’d set for his seven grandsons. Authors Eric Walters, John Wilson, Ted Staunton, Richard Scrimger, Norah McClintock, Sigmund Brouwer and Shane Peacock bring their signature writing styles to a series of adventures that’ll take readers from the top of Mount Kilimanjaro to the bottom of the Mediterranean Sea. Along the way, readers will meet an aging movie star, some comically inept mobsters, a few scary Icelanders, and a very angry grizzly bear.

The idea for the series came from Walters and his passion for bringing great stories to kids—especially to boys. Walters’s idea was to ask six other well-known children’s book authors to each contribute a novel to a series that would be connected by a grandfather’s love of his seven grandsons. Since each of the adventures happens at the same time, the books can be read in any order. Check out the trailer and other info about the series at

Read one. Read them all. Win a set and get yours first! Click here!  From Orca Book Publishers.

SLJTeen header

This article was featured in our free SLJTeen enewsletter.
Subscribe today to have more articles like this delivered to you twice a month.